The 12 Days of Anime Christmas – Day 9: That Time I Helped Make Avatar Be a Better Series

Yes, I know Avatar is not anime – the creative decision makers are American and not Japanese – however, one of my most successful posts on The Null Set dealt with how the first Avatar series ended and this is an anime blog, so, the new Avatar series, Legend of Korra, is fair game as far as I’m concerned.

In my post about the ending of the first Avatar series I lamented the need for such a poorly done deus ex machina to tie the series up and to question Aang’s decision that lobotomizing the Fire Lord was the ethically superior option. I came up with several alternatives that Aang could have done that would have upheld his vow not to kill, stopped the Fire Lord, and not resorted to Aang doing brain surgery against the Fire Lord’s consent.

One option, the one I liked the most, was to create a sphere around the Fire Lord’s head through air bending and pull all the air out from that sphere until the Fire Lord fell unconscious.

Fast forward six years and during the third season of the new Avatar series, which aired earlier this year, what did I see? Air bending being done exactly as I described it in my earlier post. I gasped then squealed in excitement. I knew that would work. The third season of Korra was a particularly strong season of Avatar and seeing that was just the cherry on top.

Did the creators of Avatar actually read my blog post and decided to include this type of air bending? Maybe, but most likely they got the idea from somewhere else. Maybe this was just a sneaky way to get in a mention that the two seasons of Avatar that aired this year where most excellent and on-par with the best anime series that aired this season 😉 .

One thought on “The 12 Days of Anime Christmas – Day 9: That Time I Helped Make Avatar Be a Better Series”

  1. Excellent, now we just need Ghibli to read your post on potential ways to move forward! 🙂

    It is a funny feeling. Something similar happened to me when I was suggesting some things on a closed beta forum and they actually were implemented on release, almost exactly how I suggested, and not many other people said the same thing. Did it happen because of my suggestion? Probably not – the developers might have done it by themselves. Nevertheless, it feels nice that the feature you wanted actually materialized.

    Like

Leave a comment