Hanamaru Kindergarten ep.2 – Gainax Can Do Cute and Awesome at the Same Time

I’ll admit that I was a bit surprised how much I liked the first episode of Hanamaru Kindergarten. It fell far outside of what Gainax is known for – more reminiscent of a J.C. Staff show then a Gainax show. For the second episode, Gainax was able to keep the warm, slice-of-life, cuteness feel but they also slipped in some awesome stuff that reminded the viewer that they’re watching a Gainax show. Look below to see what I mean.

It appears that Gainax might go the route of Sora no Otoshimono and do different ending songs for each episode. For episode 2, we got, presumably, Hiiragi’s closing song. I love the Gainax feel to the animation.

And of course the episode was full of cuteness.

The trio go exploring

Tsuchi-sensei is overwhelmed

Tsuchi decides to let his student’s slide on the slide

Know-it-all kid tries to make trouble

He finds a ghost

And needs saving by Hiiragi
At least he’s willing to admit that Hiiragi is superior

Next episode seems to involve a love triangle:

6 thoughts on “Hanamaru Kindergarten ep.2 – Gainax Can Do Cute and Awesome at the Same Time”

  1. I was really surprised by my love of the first episode too. I didn’t read the post–haven’t watched it yet, but I love the first picture. Glad to know it’s still good. ^_^

    Like

  2. I wasn’t expecting much from this series, but I like it so far too – the end of episode 2 with the ‘shishou’ scene cracked me up, and while I didn’t laugh as much as at Potemayo (for me, the gold standard of chibi/cute/funny) it was still a fun episode to watch. I agree it felt much more like JC Staff than Gainax…but I guess if they can do Puchi Puri Yuushi, then they can do this too…

    Like

  3. @suguru: The one thing that Hanamaru Kindergarten has over Potemayo is there’s no creepy side characters to get in the way of the cute feel of the show. 🙂

    @Janette: Another person who doesn’t like to be spoiled 🙂

    @Kitsune: Please do, I’d love to hear what you think.

    @RP: I know and you can’t blame the boy for being enchanted by them.

    Like

Leave a comment