[Commie] Ani Tore! EX - 12 [16429D49].mkv_snapshot_02.59_[2015.12.30_03.49.18]

The Best Anime of 2015: Part 0 – The Worst Stuff

Thanks to a personal desire to be as accurate about anime as I can be for this anime blog, I watch series that don’t necessarily interest me and series that I know will probably stink. Sometimes I’m surprised and find that diamond in the rough. Sometimes the anime is as bad as I thought it would be. More often, I’m stuck watching anime that isn’t quite bad enough to outright drop but not good enough to enjoy watching. I’d rather spend my time blogging about the good stuff but, once a year, I want to focus on the mediocre, the bad, and the terrible anime that I watched in the past year to cleanse the palette and remind myself that not all anime is good.

This section of awards and the worst of countdown is that focus.

If you haven’t read one of my seasonal or year end reviews before, I try to keep spoilers to a minimum but there’ll be some because of how they’ll relate to specific awards. Also, as for the continuing shows and split cour series, only the part of the series that ran during this year is under consideration for this year’s awards.

(Split cour is a way to artificially pump sales up because many people in Japan will only buy the first volume of a series as a compromise between wanting to demonstrate support for a show and affording the ridiculous pricing and, so, splitting the cours is a method to try to get these people to buy twice as many volumes. Therefore, if the money people want people to think of them as separate seasons then I will think of split cour series as different series.)

Now onto the awards.

Worst Character Designs

[caffeine] Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu - 02 [720p][99F4BE11].mkv_snapshot_00.09_[2015.04.14_02.23.38]Winner: Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu
Runner-up: Aquarion Logos

This year saw two franchises get new series that basically ditched almost everything good about the respective franchises and – in a surprise to no one – the result was embarrassingly bad. I think the creators subconsciously knew this so when it came time to create the character designs they created designs that matched the quality of the rest of the show. Yuki-chan wins for actually making my stomach sick on a number of occasions from how bad the characters looked.

Worst Animation

[HorribleSubs] Ninja Slayer - 18 [720p].mkv_snapshot_02.01_[2015.08.17_02.56.45]Winner: Ninja Slayer From Animation
Runner-up: Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu

Almost a two-peat for Yuki-chan but Ninja Slayer edges it out because it lacked the quality non-CG animation I was hoping for and then failed to live up to the fun, gimmicky animation quality of Inferno Cop.

Did Not Live Up To It’s Hype

[HorribleSubs] JoJo's Bizarre Adventure - Stardust Crusaders Egypt Arc - 25 [720p].mkv_snapshot_02.18_[2015.01.28_02.33.11]Winner: JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken: Stardust Crusaders 2nd Season  
Runner-up: Kekkai Sensen

Everything about Kekkai Sensen was completely awesome except for it’s utter mess of a story, which might be the most important element here because it’s that one element that soured the overall experience. Dwarfing Kekkai Sensen is the second half of Stardust Crusaders. This arc just never got any good and the final Dio fight did not live up to even the mid-level fights of the prior arc. I’m really hoping the next story arc won’t let me down as well.

Falling Apart After Starting Strongly

[DameDesuYo] Subete ga F ni Naru - 07 (1280x720 10bit AAC) [AFD38CAB].mkv_snapshot_05.59_[2015.12.05_02.16.17]Winner: Subete ga F ni Naru: The Perfect Insider
Runner-up: Gangsta.

I feel bad about putting Gangsta. here because it certainly wasn’t the fault of the creators the company was spiraling to bankruptcy but, after starting out as the strongest Manglobe series in a decade, it just fizzled out at the end. It was bested by the latest example of how the Japanese can’t do a proper mystery. I know that’s probably a bad overgeneralization but I can’t think of a single anime I’ve seen that sets out to be a mystery series that truly succeeds. On the opposite end of the scale, the English seem like they have a genetic affinity for mystery. In the last couple of years I’ve watched and loved the new Sherlock series, Rosemary and Thyme, Broadchurch, Father Brown, Lewis, Whitechapel and then there’s the Poirot, Marple, Inspector Morse series which I haven’t gotten to yet and that just scratches the surface.

Most Disappointing

[Vivid] Durarara!!x2 Shou - 01 [17B72D95].mkv_snapshot_10.28_[2015.01.17_23.30.40]Winner: Durarara!!x2
Runner-up: Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu

I’m going to stop wishing for more Baccano because if the quality of this continuation of Durarara!! is any indication – I don’t want to see Baccano ruined. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen a series become so unfocused and meandering as what Durarara!! has become. And for being so actively painful to watch it beats out Yuki-chan which was merely a completely pointless sequel that added nothing to the franchise other than to remind you how, nearly 10 years ago, KyoAni did a better job on every aspect of their series.

The Worst Anime of the Year

(That I Finished)

[caffeine] Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu - 01 [720p][DC1DB4A3].mkv_snapshot_09.15_[2015.04.14_02.14.23](5) – Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu
  • Makes you wish that KyoAni would make another round of Endless Eight episodes.
[FFF] Nisekoi S2 - 01 [E0D0C713].mkv_snapshot_18.25_[2015.04.16_01.17.26](4) – Nisekoi:
  • The Shaft series of the last decade that least deserves a sequel gets a sequel.
[kdfss] Himouto! Umaru-chan - 11 [720p-Hi10P][75EF4EF0].mkv_snapshot_07.48_[2015.10.11_02.34.18](3) – Himouto! Umaru-chan
  • I wish this had been funny.
[HorribleSubs] Ninja Slayer - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_04.19_[2015.04.19_02.32.23](2) – Ninja Slayer From Animation
  • It did not fully embrace the concept and the result as a flaccid failure for studio Trigger.
[GJM] Comet Lucifer - 04 [ED564C95].mkv_snapshot_12.54_[2015.11.25_02.35.05](1) – Comet Lucifer
  • Don’t let the above average animation fool you; this was an all-around terrible series to watch with no redeeming qualities.

Now a bit of housekeeping. By myself I can’t watch every anime series that gets released – not that I would wish to watch all the terrible ecchi anime that comes out – so this look back at the best and worst of anime from 2015 only covers those series I’ve watched. Those series are listed below for reference. If you feel a series that I did not watch should win in a category then please leave a comment saying so. I don’t like the idea of missing good anime and would be interested to hear about series I might have missed.

Series watched

Winter Season

Carry-over shows watched this season (6): Garo: Honoo no Kokuin, Log Horizon 2, Nanatsu no Taizai: The Seven Deadly Sins, Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu, Shirobako, Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

New shows watched this season (13): Tokyo Ghoul √A, Death Parade, Durarara!!x2 Shou, Aldnoah.Zero 2nd Season, Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata, Kantai Collection: KanColle, JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken: Stardust Crusaders 2nd Season, Rolling☆Girls, Koufuku Graffiti, Yuri Kuma Arashi, Dog Days”, Yoru no Yatterman, Tantei Kageki Milky Holmes TD

Shows that got dropped (6): Ansatsu Kyoushitsu (TV), Shinmai Maou no Testament, Junketsu no Maria, Juuou Mujin no Fafnir, Military!, Sengoku Musou

Spring Season

Carry-over shows watched this season (1): JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken: Stardust Crusaders 2nd Season

New shows watched this season (21): Dungeon ni Deai wo Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka, Owari no Seraph, Shokugeki no Souma, Kekkai Sensen, Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Zoku, Ore Monogatari!!, Plastic Memories, Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works 2nd Season, Yamada-kun to 7-nin no Majo (TV), Nisekoi:, Hibike! Euphonium, Grisaia no Rakuen, Punch Line, Sidonia no Kishi: Daikyuu Wakusei Seneki, Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu, Mikagura Gakuen Kumikyoku, Etotama, Hello!! Kiniro Mosaic, Show By Rock!!, Kaitou Joker 2nd Season, Ninja Slayer From Animation

Shows that got dropped (2): Gunslinger Stratos: The Animation, Urawa no Usagi-chan

Summer Season

Carry-over shows watched this season (3): Shokugeki no Souma, Ore Monogatari!!, Ninja Slayer From Animation

New shows watched this season (17): Gangsta., Gate: Jieitai Kanochi nite, Kaku Tatakaeri, Overlord, Prison School, Shimoneta to Iu Gainen ga Sonzai Shinai Taikutsu na Sekai, Himouto! Umaru-chan, Gakkougurashi!, Akagami no Shirayuki-hime, Durarara!!x2 Ten, Ushio to Tora (TV), Okusama ga Seitokaichou!, Ranpo Kitan: Game of Laplace, Joukamachi no Dandelion, Classroom☆Crisis, Gatchaman Crowds Insight, Wakaba*Girl, Senki Zesshou Symphogear GX: Believe in Justice and Hold a Determination to Fist.

Shows that got dropped (4): Charlotte, God Eater, Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou, Aquarion Logos

Fall Season

Carry-over shows watched this season (1): Ushio to Tora (TV)

New shows watched this season (16): One Punch Man, Noragami Aragoto, Owari no Seraph: Nagoya Kessen-hen, Haikyuu!! Second Season, Sakurako-san no Ashimoto ni wa Shitai ga Umatteiru, Taimadou Gakuen 35 Shiken Shoutai, Owarimonogatari, Subete ga F ni Naru: The Perfect Insider, Comet Lucifer, Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans, Concrete Revolutio: Choujin Gensou, Hacka Doll The Animation, Garo: Guren no Tsuki, Lupin III (2015), Anitore! EX, Peeping Life TV: Season 1??

Shows that got dropped (1): Osomatsu-san

Total New Series Watched: 80
Total New Series Completed: 63
Total New Series Dropped: 13
Total New Series Continuing: 04
Total Carryover Series: 06
Total Carryover Series Completed: 06
Total Carryover Series Continuing: 00

Total Series Watched: 86, Total Series Completed: 69

Next we will shine the spot light on the best characters and cast.

4 thoughts on “The Best Anime of 2015: Part 0 – The Worst Stuff”

  1. Wow, that’s a ton of anime! Good job getting through all that – if I made my own seasonal list, I know it would definitely have far more dropped shows than kept. That said, I’m increasingly pressed for time so I’ve been getting pretty strict about what titles I end up sticking with. This list shows some serious dedication though, I’m impressed!

    Like

  2. Now I know why you didn’t have time to blog. Too busy finishing 63 shows. 😉 My count for 2015 was 30 series started, 18 finished, 7 dropped, and 5 still sitting on my hold list in limbo.

    The four worst shows that I finished (because I enjoyed the other 14 too much to put them on a “worst of” list) were:

    4. F/SN UBW Season 2: Which would also double as my pick for both “most disappointing” and “did not live up to hype,” given how high my expectations were compared to the three below, and also how much I enjoyed the first season.

    3. Comet Lucifer: I will disagree with you insofar as it did have one redeeming quality for me – I liked the dancing vegetables. And that’s about the best thing I can say for it.

    2. Bikini Warriors: As trashy as expected, but it met my very minimal expectations and also had some pretty funny parodies of JRPG tropes that kept it from being a total waste of time.

    1. Nagato Yuki-chan: Thank you for the repeated reminders of just how bad this series was. I doubt I would’ve made it through it if I wasn’t such a Haruhi fan.

    “Falling apart after starting strongly” is a harder pick for me because most of the shows that would fit that description for me I ended up dropping outright (like Plastic Memories and Rolling Girls). Perfect Insider is a good pick for that, though.

    And you’re right, it is hard to find a good pure mystery anime. It seems like most of the best mysteries in anime are piggybacked onto other genres, like Hyouka (mystery/slice-of-life) or Higurashi (mystery/horror). I did like Sakurako-san (much better than Perfect Insider, anyway), although that series had its own fair share of problems. Have you watched Gosick or Kindaichi Case Files? I haven’t, but I’ve heard good things about them.

    Like

  3. I suppose I should amend that to 31 shows, since I wasn’t thinking about Non Non Biyori Repeat, which I’ve almost finished watching (though I didn’t actually start it until January).

    Also forgot about my nominee for worst animation. That goes to Lance N’ Masques, which somehow managed to pull off the unlikely feat of delivering a visual presentation that was even flatter and more generic than its cast of characters. I’m cheating a bit with that pick because I dropped LnM after six episodes, but it was still the worst-looking series of the year that I watched. And no, I wasn’t a fan of Yuki-chan’s designs either.

    Like

  4. @Artemis: Thank you! and thanks for the comment! I’d probably be more strict with anime if there was other TV series that I felt like watching.

    @WingKing: Thanks for the comment! I had very low expectations for F/SN UBW Season 2 going in and was only mildly disappointed as a result.

    I was very under-enthused with Gosick. Aoi Yuuki did a great job voicing the main character and the animation was nice but I thought the mysteries were seriously lacking. I remember that I only got through the series by deciding I didn’t care about mysteries at all and focused on the characters.

    I have not seen any part of Kindaichi Case Files. I see it’s animated by Toei and I’m not the biggest Toei fan so I’d probably be a tough sell for ever giving it a chance.

    Six episodes is enough to judge something like animation quality. I’m starting to get tired of even attempting series like Lance N’ Masques so I didn’t even bother with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

