[FFF] Death Parade - 01 [354391BE].mkv_snapshot_22.24_[2015.02.16_19.03.36]

Day 12 – I Choose You Jay-C – The 12 Days of Anime

Merry Christmas!

Since it’s Christmas time, for this last moment I’m going to choose the moment from 2015 where an anime most reinforced my faith.

[FFF] Death Parade - 01 [354391BE].mkv_snapshot_01.24_[2015.02.16_18.56.11]The anime is Death Parade. If you’ve missed this anime the general gist of show is that when people die they get sent to a pretty crappy afterlife where an artificially created rational “person” is given the job of judging your soul based on an abridged set of your memories and how you respond in a game against another person whose also just died.

I’m now not sure the exact episode where this moment occurred but it was towards the end. The entities running this afterlife believe that their judges must not be compromised with human feelings and this rankles one of the humans featured in the show. She pushes the idea that only a human that understands what it is to be human is equipped with the proper mindset to judge a person.

The unfairness of this afterlife set-up had been slowly intensifying my anger as the series played out and now, at this moment, I wanted to jump into the computer screen and add my voice and tell these “perfect” entities that for your judgments to be fair and correct, a person needs to be judged by someone who is both perfect and also human. After facepalming – Hi, Jesus! I definitely didn’t forget about you – I realized how important the notion of getting a truly fair judgment when I died had become to me, unbeknownst to me beforehand.

I don’t know if that was something I was supposed to get out of watching Death Parade but that’s what happened.

[FFF] Death Parade - 01 [354391BE].mkv_snapshot_01.05_[2015.02.16_18.55.35]Whew, I honestly didn’t think I could finish this year’s 12 Days of Anime on time-ish but I did. I hope those reading found some worth in my ramblings from this year. Once again, I get to the end and realize that I had other moments I would have liked to include but never found the room to do so.

Ideally, my look back at the best anime 2015 will be out about a month from now, after my eighth anniversary. This is to give me time to finish any straggling series, reflect, and finish writing all (or most) of the posts before I begin posting them. I’ll try not to be stranger between now and then.

4 thoughts on “Day 12 – I Choose You Jay-C – The 12 Days of Anime”

  1. They weren’t even dead, they were still playing out the karma of their previous lives.

    The fact that they need a test of this kind in the afterlife, means that the judges are flawed or merely bored.

    Like

  2. Anyways, Death Parade was less about the World System and more about the choices the humans made, in Life and in Death. The Journey of Life is Death, after all.

    Like

  3. @WingKing: Thanks and thanks for nice replies you wrote, they were a joy to read

    @ymarsakar: A sequel exploring the World System in greater depth would be great, but that’s never going to happen,

    Like

Leave a Reply

