[caffeine] Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu - 01 [720p][DC1DB4A3].mkv_snapshot_09.53_[2015.04.14_02.15.46]

Day 4 – I Regret Nothing Except When I Do – The 12 Days of Anime

It would be nice if it was possible to watch every anime that comes out and that each anime would be worth watching but that is an impossible possibility. (Maybe in a Twilight Zone sort of way it is possible if only one anime a year gets made and only after it gets the approval of everyone in the world.)

Therefore, a person naturally develops criteria to decide what to watch and continually refines this criteria. I’ve been watching anime for over 10 years now and have watched close to 700 anime series in that time, so, I’d like to believe how I evaluate a potential show has gotten fairly accurate. However, there are still times when a bad apple slips through; exceedingly rare, though, is a series I finish before I realize I’ve wasted my time watching it.

Most of the time I catch that moment early on that is the harbinger of fail. In the case of Charlotte it was the moment they introduced the younger sister in the first episode.

[GJM-Mezashite] Charlotte - 01 [40A3E193].mkv_snapshot_15.36_[2015.10.08_16.57.43]

In the case of Gunslinger Stratos it was the quote by St. Augustine with the random picture Mont Saint-Michel to start the show off.

[HorribleSubs] Gunslinger Stratos - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_00.03_[2015.04.16_23.08.10]

Sometimes I miss it and it’s healthy to confess one’s failings; therefore, today I’m featuring the moment I missed that best should have told me a series was not going to be worth watching. The series is The Disappearance of Yuki-chan and the moment comes towards the beginning of first episode when we see Yuki crossing the street as Haruhi goes the other way.

[caffeine] Nagato Yuki-chan no Shoushitsu - 01 [720p][DC1DB4A3].mkv_snapshot_04.41_[2015.04.14_02.09.44]Look at this screenshot. Tell me, which way do you want the camera to go? To the left to follow Yuki or to the right to follow Haruhi?

Yuki was and continues to be my favorite character from this franchise. I still have a blinking gif of her as my avatar at the forums of Animesuki (not that I go there that often). I also loved how the movie focused on her. And yet, I wanted the camera to pan right and follow Haruhi. Even taking away her supposed powers, Haruhi remains a force of nature that is the obvious protagonist of this group.

I should have realized at this moment that this series was going to be a frustrating experience and completely not worth watching. I didn’t and right up to the end I kept waiting to see why this series was worth writing and worth being made into an anime.

Leave a Reply

