[DameDesuYo] Tokyo Ghoul Root A - 01 (1280x720 10bit AAC) [2878F633].mkv_snapshot_11.34_[2015.01.17_23.23.00]

Test Your Anime Knowledge – Anime Quiz 12

One series that’s fallen in that grey zone of being not good or bad enough to really warrant discussion this season is Tokyo Ghoul √A. As a person who doesn’t read much manga because it’ll interfere with the eventual anime adaptation, I have no familiarity to the source material to influence my view of the anime. The first season of Tokyo Ghoul was okay, sometimes good, but lacked some elusive bit that prevented it from being great. I blame Studio Pierrot; they haven’t impressed me with one of their series in over a decade. I think the long form shounen series make them a touch lazy. I almost didn’t bother with the second season but I wanted to really like Tokyo Ghoul so I held my nose and started in on the sequel. At first, I kicked myself because the sequel started off even worse. I was just about to metaphorically throw the series out the window when Tokyo Ghoul √A suddenly got good. This final arc about the police making a raid to try to catch Owl is everything I was hoping the series would be.

I’ve been too busy to get to the penultimate episode of Tokyo Ghoul √A, maybe tonight, but I’m really looking forward to watching it and that’s pretty much the first time I’ve thought that about this series. Speaking of penultimate, here’s this week’s anime quiz.

Question 1: Name the anime that features these three characters – Kamina, Simon, Nia.

Question 2: Name the anime that features these three characters – Mikuru Asahina, Yuki Nagato, Kyon.

Refer to the following picture for questions 3 – 4.

anime_quiz_12_01Question 3: These four series share a personal connection. What is it?

Question 4: What can be said about the animation studio(s) that animated these works?

Question 5: Studio Deen was founded by member(s) of what animation studio?

(A) Sunrise                                 (C) Toei
(B) Madhouse                         (D) J.C. Staff

Question 6: Dogakobo was founded by member(s) of what animation studio?

(A) Sunrise                                (C) Toei
(B) Madhouse                         (D) J.C. Staff

Refer to the following picture for questions 7 – 9.

anime_quiz_12_02Question 7: Name these four anime series.

Question 8: Arrange these four anime series from oldest to youngest.

Question 9: These four series share a connection which could probably best be called a foundational connection. What is it?

Refer to the following picture for questions 10 – 11.anime_quiz_12_03

Question 10: Five of these anime share a foundational connection. Which five anime and what is it?

Question 11: Four of these anime share an organizational connection. Which four anime and what is it?

anime_quiz_12_04Question 12: Name the Japanese seiyuu that voiced these four characters.

anime_quiz_12_05Question 13: Name the Japanese seiyuu that voiced these four characters.

Question 14: Let’s try something new, please leave a comment if these don’t work for you. Here’s the direct link. Listen to this short clip of an anime song. What anime used this as an opening song?

Question 15: Here’s the direct link. Listen to this short clip of an anime song. What anime used this as an opening song?

As always, answers will be posted on Friday.

6 thoughts on “Test Your Anime Knowledge – Anime Quiz 12”

  1. 1) Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann
    2) The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
    3) The director? Forgot his name
    4) I dunno
    5) B
    6) D
    7) A – Kino’s Journey, B – Baccano!, C – Spice and Wolf, D – The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
    8) A, D, C, B
    9) Dengeki Bunkoh?
    10) No idea
    11) A, C, E, F — Production I.G?
    12) Saito Chiwa
    13) Sakamoto Maaya
    14) Uchuu Senkan Yamato
    15) This actually sounds familiar, but I can’t put my finger on it. x_x

    Like

  2. This will probably not be one of my best weeks…

    1. Gurren Lagann
    2. The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
    3-4. Don’t Know
    5. C?
    6. A?
    7. B=Baccano, C=Spice and Wolf, D= The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. Don’t know what A is
    8. A, D, B, C?
    9. All light novel adaptations
    10-11. A, B, C, and D were all original anime series. That’s my answer for either 10 or 11, depending on which one you wanted it for. I know nothing about E or F.
    12. Chiwa Saito (funny, we were just talking about Lyrical Nanoha in the other thread, and she voiced three characters in Nanoha’s third season, including one of the main heroes AND one of the main villains)
    13. Maaya Sakamoto (Shiki Ryougi is awesome, but to me, she’ll always be Hitomi from Escaflowne)
    14. Sgt. Frog?
    15. Don’t know

    Like

  3. @miharusshi: The next time I do these anime quizzes I’ll have to use Dengeki Bunkoh for an answer some where. I was surprised to see that that was almost the correct answer, Haruhi was the only one that didn’t fit.

    @Jim D.:Three characters? – That’s pretty cool. I’ve thought for awhile now that If I could use a magic wand I think I’d like to wish for an anime series that all the characters would be voiced by Kana Hanazawa.

    Escaflowne, one of those anime series I probably should get too someday.

    Like

  4. Escaflowne was my true gateway series, back in my second year of college (97-98), and I still love it – that’s the one anime I can’t even pretend to be objective about. As a bit of trivia, it was also Yoko Kanno’s first anime TV series score (and still one of her best, IMO). First anime I ever bought on DVD too, although I only learned about ten years later that my copy is actually a cut-rate edition from Hong Kong (which is very weird because I bought it new at Suncoast – I have no idea how that ended up on the shelf at a legit US retailer). Anyway, Funimation bought the license in 2013, so if they ever get it re-released here, I’ll definitely buy the new edition.

    Like

  5. Aha! The music questions!😀

    haha They are relatively difficult. Well, the answer for 14 is right there in the song, but 15 is somewhat more elusive – SZS is not very popular.

    Like

  6. @Kitsune: Sorry for the slow reply. I stuck to songs that seeded in the upper half of the animusic tournament that ran in 2013 to try and not be too obscure but yeah, SZS is kinda obscure nowadays but I really loved the song.

    Like

Leave a Reply

