[Cthune] Rolling Girls - 07 [720p H264 AAC][79A68379].mkv_snapshot_10.01_[2015.03.05_23.07.18]

Anime Quiz 9 Answers

I’ve fallen a bit behind on Yoru no Yatterman and Rolling Girls due to my preferred method of viewing – cough, cough, Cthuko, cough, Cthune, cough, cough – sorry, I seem to have gotten a frog stuck in my throat. So, I might be completely disproved at this point but I’m starting to think that the main characters of Rolling Girls might never get their stones of power because I feel the theme of this anime could be about the strength of normal people vs. that of “superheroes”. Which is an interesting way for this series to end up going, then again, if they received their stones in an episode or two I wouldn’t be surprised either. Whatever happens both Yoru no Yatterman and Rolling Girls have helped make this season a stronger one then I initially thought it would be.

Now, let’s find out the answers to this week’s quiz.

Question 1: Name the anime that features these three characters – Yui Hirasawa, Ritsu Tainaka, Mio Akiyama.

  • The answer is K-On!. Often maligned, I thought the first season’s story felt rushed and disjointed – it didn’t set the correct tone for the type of series it was – but that was completely rectified in the second season, which I thought was really good. The movie was also fun since it involved the main characters traveling to England.

Question 2: Name the anime that features these three characters – Kanako Miyamae, Matsurika Shinouji, Mariya Shidou.

  • The answer is Maria+holic. I really wanted to like this anime because I thought, conceptually, it’s a perfect Shaft series but the resulting series never reached it’s full potential.

anime_quiz_09_01Refer to the following picture for questions 3 – 5.

Question 3: Name these four anime series.

  • These four anime series are AAzumanga Daioh, BPrincess Jellyfish, CMonsters, and DUtena.

Question 4: Each of these four series belongs to one of the four demographics in Japanese manga/anime: shounen, shoujo, josei, and seinen. Match the series to the correct intended demographic.

  • The correct demographics are as followed: A – shounen, B – josei, C – seinen, and D – shoujo.

Question 5: Arrange these four anime series by the number of episodes of their TV series from least to most.

  • The correct order is B, A, D, C. Princess Jellyfish, B, ran 11 episodes (and really needs a sequel). Azumanga Daioh, A, had a length of 26 episodes and is followed by D, Revolutionary Girl Utena, which aired a total of 39 episodes. Monster, C, ran the longest with 74 episodes. I recently started Monster, seven episodes in, after discovering it ranked so highly on MAL – it’s #31 at the present moment – and I’m still not sure if it’s genuinely that good or ranked that highly because it’s such a unique premised anime.

anime_quiz_09_02Question 6: These four characters share a personality trait. What is it?

  • The answer I was looking for these characters all really enjoy doughnuts. The four characters, from left to right, are Vash the Stampede from Trigun, Aoi Miyamori from the currently airing hit Shirobako, Shinobu Oshino from the Bakemonogatari franchise, and Aoi Asahina from Danganronpa.

anime_quiz_09_03Question 7: These four anime series began airing in what season?

  • The answer is B – Spring 2011. The four series pictured, from left to right, are Nichijou, Hanasaku Iroha, C – The Money of Soul and Possibility Control, and Steins;Gate. I always intended to rewatch C. The story was a bit messy, which turned many people off, but it ended with a very interesting message that I wanted to reexamine.

anime_quiz_09_screenshot_01Question 8: The spring 2015 anime season is rapidly approaching. One way to help judge if an anime series is worth watching is by the animation studio who is animating it. It’s often possible to figure this out just by looking at the publicity picture. This and the following three questions relate to these yet to air series. What animation studio is animating this series?

  • The animation studio animating this anime is Madhouse. It’s name is Ore Monogatari!! and it’s being directed by Morio Asaka who also did Chihayafuru. This is definitely on my to watch list.

anime_quiz_09_screenshot_02Question 9: What animation studio is animating this new series?

  • The animation studio animating this anime is Kyoto Animation. It’s name is Hibike! Euphonium or Sound! Euphonium. Being KyoAni it’s an automatic watch but I always look forward to KyoAni series more when they are being directed by Tatsuya Ishihara (Air, Clannad, Kanon, The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, Nichijou, etc.)

anime_quiz_09_screenshot_03Question 10: What animation studio is animating this new series?

  • The animation studio animating this anime is Bones. It’s name is Kekkai Sensen or Blood Blockade Battlefront. Another anime on my definite to watch list. Manga is written by the guy who did Trigun, Yasuhiro Nightow, and directed by Rie Matsumoto, who last did Kyousougiga.

anime_quiz_09_screenshot_04Question 11: What animation studio is animating this new series?

  • The animation studio animating this anime is JC Staff. It’s name is Shokugeki no Soma. Truth be told, I’ll probably give this one a try even though I expect to drop it after a few episodes.

anime_quiz_09_04Question 12: Name the Japanese seiyuu that voiced these four characters.

  • The seiyuu is Aoi Yuuki. The four roles, from left to right, are Sunako Kirishiki from Shiki, Hana Oshiroi from Ben-To, Couvert Eschenbach Pastillage from Dog Days 2 and 3, and Yuuki Konno from Sword Art Online II.

anime_quiz_09_05Question 13: Name the Japanese seiyuu that voiced these four characters.

  • The seiyuu is Jun Fukuyama. The four roles, from left to right, are Sugata Shindou from Star Driver, Gammon Sakanoue from Phi Brain, Tori Aoi from Kyoukaisenjou no Horizon, and Yuuta Togashi from Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai.

Question 14: The song ” Forces” is an ending song to which anime?

  • The song “Forces” is an ending song to the 1997 anime series Berserk.

Question 15: The song “Orange” is an ending song to which anime?

  • For the song “Orange” I was looking for an answer of Toradora since that’s the version I’m familiar with and the one that placed on the Animusic Tourney that ran in 2013 (I’m trying to make sure these song titles aren’t too obscure); however, it’s a title that’s been used more then once. The anime series Bleach also works, as does Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso since it’s second ending is also called Orange. Cross Game had an ending named Orange Days and I’d’ve given half credit for that and there was probably more🙂 .

To tally results:

TheAtarashiiGuy – 1 point, thanks for trying

miharusshi – 12.5 points (93 total points)

Jim D – 10 points (77.5 total points)

Check back on Monday for next week’s quiz of anime knowledge.

3 thoughts on “Anime Quiz 9 Answers”

  1. K-ON!! second season was, in my opinion, a great sequel and in itself a great SOL series. It probably is one of my top school themed SOL favorites.

    Ah, so Utena is really a shoujo series. I was reluctant to really answer ‘shoujo’ for it, because of its 3Deep5me/Ikuni fanbase, i.e. yuri-ness.

    Monster left me in awe at first, probably because I didn’t watch anything else at the time and I literally marathoned the whole show in 3 days. I can’t seem to put the words to describe my impressions on the show, so I think a rewatch would help. Then again, I think it’s a really amazing and well-written material.

    I really liked C, but like you, I need to rewatch it to clearly have a say about it.

    Ore Monogatari is also going to be on my watch-list, not only because of Chihayafuru staff, but also because the manga is written by a mangaka favorite of mine, Kawahara Kazune.

    More Ishihara Tatsuya stuff are welcome.😀

    Like

  2. @miharusshi: I’m watching Monster with my one sister so monster sized marathons aren’t possible🙂 .

    That’s good to hear about the manga for Ore Monogatari – it’s always easier for an anime to be good when the source material is good as well.

    Like

  3. I just read the first 10 chapters of Ore Monogatari and it’s really good, except that I feel like something’s missing from the formula which would make it an unquestionable favorite of mine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

