[Commie] Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso - 18 [F0EB3577].mkv_snapshot_08.51_[2015.02.23_19.15.23]

Test Your Anime Knowledge – Anime Quiz 8

I think I have a pretty typical knowledge and feel for classical music – i.e. very little – so it’s hard to judge the musical performances in Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso beyond what the various characters communicate to the viewer. However, this week on Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso, episode 18, I was following along with the musical performance like normal when, all of the sudden, I started singing the words ‘Once upon a Dream’ from Disney’s Sleeping Beauty in time with the piano playing and then belatedly realized – hey, I know this song!. Finally, my meager knowledge of classical music came into play and I watched as a whole new avenue to appreciate and love Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso opened up. I didn’t have to be told it was an awesome performance; I knew it was an awesome performance and that was such a wonderful feeling. When they were done playing, I had to restrain myself because I almost jumped out of my seat to applaud loudly.

This series has been underappreciated from the start.

And speaking of under-appreciation, there’s a question on this week’s quiz that focuses on someone whose definitely underappreciated right now.

Question 1: Name the anime that features these three characters – Haruhi Fujioka, Tamaki Suou, Mitsukuni Haninozuka.

Question 2: Name the anime that features these three characters – Sasuke Uchiha, Hinata Hyuuga, Sakura Haruno.

Refer to the following picture for questions 3 – 5.

anime_quiz_08_01Question 3: Name these four anime series.

Question 4: Arrange these four anime series from oldest to newest.

Question 5: As you probably know, anime and manga is broken down and sold by four broad age categories. They are shounen – young boys, shoujo – young girls, josei – young women, and seinen – young men. Each of the above four anime came from a manga magazine targeting one of these categories. Match the anime to the correct demographic: shounen – ________, shoujo – ________, josei – ________, seinen – ________.

Question 6: What American TV series directly inspired the creation of the magical girl subgenre of anime and manga?

Question 7: This clip appears to be a pretty ubiquitous piece of anime action animation but it is a call out to an master animator who helped revolutionize anime by creating action sequences that were not static and staid, as was common in his day. Name either the famous animator or what this trademark scene is called.

screenshot_08_01Question 8: Talking about ubiquitous components of anime, this screenshot is a recent example of a trademark stylistic quirk of a influential and talented director. Name this famous director.

anime_quiz_08_02Question 9: These four series share a personal connection. What is it?

anime_quiz_08_02aQuestion 10: Using the personal connection in question 9 as the basis, which of these two anime series could be added to the group of four anime series in question 9?

anime_quiz_08_02bQuestion 11: Using the personal connection in question 9 as the basis, which of these two anime series could be added to the group of four anime series in question 9?

anime_quiz_08_03Question 12: Name the Japanese seiyuu that voiced these four characters.

anime_quiz_08_04Question 13: Name the Japanese seiyuu that voiced these four characters.

Question 14: The song “Days of Dash” is an ending song to which anime?

Question 15: The song ” Tank!” is an opening song to which anime?

Tune back in on Friday for the answers to this week’s anime quiz.

3 thoughts on “Test Your Anime Knowledge – Anime Quiz 8”

  1. Welp. I’m pretty sure MAL appreciates KimiUso. It’s currently on the Top 100 highest rated anime there.

    1) Ouran High School Host Club
    2) Naruto —easy peasy
    3) A – Natsume Yuujinchou
    B – Minami-ke
    C – Chihayafuru –ooh, that hiragana title kind of gives away the answerrrr (But I’ve already seen the series🙂 )
    D – Haikyuu!!
    4) B, A, C, D
    5) shounen – D, shoujo – A, josei – C, seinen – B
    6) I dunno
    7) Itano circus
    8) Hiroyuki Imaishi
    9) I dunno
    10) A (just a guess, though I wouldn’t know, really)
    11) B (see above)
    12) Sawashiro Miyuki
    13 Kaji Yuki
    14) Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo (love the song and the series🙂 )
    15) Cowboy Bebop

    Like

  2. 1. Ouran High School Host Club
    2. Naruto (four months have now passed, and I still hate the ending)
    3. A is Natsume’s Book of Friends, D is Haikyuu. I don’t know the other two
    4. Ha, ha. Well Haikyuu is probably the newest since it came out last year, but that’s as far as I can go.
    5. Haikyuu is the shōnen series, Natsume is the shōjo.
    6. Bewitched (hey, maybe if I wiggle my nose I can get the rest of these answers right…)
    7. Itano Circus
    8. Don’t know (Guess it didn’t work. Oh well.)
    9. All four were directed by Tsutomu Mizushima
    10. Well I don’t know what A is, but I don’t think he had anything to do with Nichijou (B), so A’s the guess
    11. Shirobako (B) – haven’t been watching it, but again I’m pretty sure he’s never worked with KyoAni
    12. Miyuki Sawashiro (I loved Rita; she also played Queen in Kaitou Joker last season)
    13. I’m going to kick myself for not getting this one, since KimiUso is one of the shows I’m watching now, but I never looked up Takeshi’s VA
    14. Don’t know
    15. Cowboy Bebop

    Like

  3. @miharusshi: But we know the taste of MAL stinks😉

    @Jim D.: Grumble, grumble I particularly like Miyuki Sawashiro.😉 I have got the first two episodes of Kaitou Joker ready to try when I want to watch some anime and have nothing in queue.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

