[Cthune] Rolling Girls - 05 [720p H264 AAC][2F6E5621].mkv_snapshot_01.36_[2015.02.13_17.46.46]

Anime Quiz 6 Answers

I’ve almost completely gone through the new books I got for Christmas already and started casting around for something new to read. (I’m holding off on The Three Body Problem by Cixin Liu, translated by Ken Liu [himself, one of my favorite new authors] because I want lessen the time I have to wait for the sequel to come out, if only a little bit.) I remembered npr did a top 100 science fiction and fantasy of all time vote/poll list that yielded a very respectable list so I started at the top and decided to read the first one that I hadn’t read and tugged at me to read. I got down to number 11 and saw The Princess Bride and knew I had my next book.

I probably shouldn’t have waited so long to read the book since I love the movie of The Princess Bride to the point that I believe that the people who don’t probably aren’t humans and are probably pod people scheming on taking over the world.

Reading the book lasted all of two days because I just couldn’t put it down. (I was up to 6 AM last night in a mad dash to finish.) There’s parts of it that are different enough that I think everyone who liked the movie should read the book. However, the spirit of what made The Princess Bride exceptional shines just as clearly in the book as it does the movie so there’s no worry about the book disappointing after watching the movie. It’s easily understandable to see why the book finished at number 11.

Anyways, here’s the answers to this week’s anime quiz.

Question 1: Name the anime that features these three characters – Nicholas Wolfwood, Meryl Stryfe, Vash the Stampede.

  • The answer is Trigun. This was another early watch as an anime fan for me and I wonder how well it holds up. I still vividly remember that great opening clearly.

Question 2: Name the anime that features these three characters – Konata Izumi, Kagami Hiiragi, Tsukasa Hiiragi.

  • The answer is Lucky Star.

anime_quiz_06_01Refer to the following picture for questions 3 – 4.

Question 3: Name the animation studios that animated these four anime shows.

  • Mai Mai Miracle, (A), was animated by Madhouse; Tamayura, (B), was first animated by Hal Film Maker and later TYO Animations and I would have accepted either; Kamichu!, (C), was animated by Brains Base; A Letter to Momo, (D), was animated by Production IG. Eagle eyed readers will notice in the near future that I mention Mai Mai Miracle in one of my 2014 Best of Anime posts. 🙂 Hal Film Maker, best know for the Aria franchise, was owned by the same people who owned the Yumeta animation studio and they decided to merge the two into one company and formed TYO Animations.

Question 4: Name the geological similarity all four share.

  • The geological similarity that all four share is they take place around what is known as the Seto Inland Sea. Three of Japan’s major islands almost completely enclose this body of water but leave a few straits and channels to the ocean open so “inland” isn’t quite accurate.

anime_quiz_06_02Refer to the following picture for questions 5 – 9.

Question 5: Name these four anime series.

  • These four anime are A Btooom!, BMahou Sensou, CPhi Brain, DM3: Sono Kuroki Hagane.

Question 6: These four series share a personal connection. What is it?

  • I was hoping these questions weren’t too hard and, failing that, I’d hoped the lack of questions dealing with music would have been a good enough hint. As for this question, the answer is that the singer nano sang either an opening or closing song for each anime (A – OP, B – ED, C – OP of S2, D – ED2). It’s probably at least partially thanks to nano’s great singing voice that I stuck around and finish both Mahou Sensou and M3 (two anime that finished in my Top 5 Worst anime of 2014).

anime_quiz_06_03Question 7: Based on the personal connection in question 6, which anime would fit in with these four anime series: Arpeggio of Blue Steel or Aldnoah.Zero?

  • The answer is AArpeggio of Blue Steel because nano sang the opening song.

Question 8: Three of these series share a further personal connection similar in nature to the one in question 6. What is it?

  • The answer to this question was something I noticed as I researched question 6. The singer May’n sang either an opening or closing for three of the four series. May’n sang the ending to Btooom!, the opening song to the first season of Phi Brain, and the first opening to M3.

anime_quiz_06_04Question 9: Based on the personal connection in question 8, what anime would fit in with the three anime series used in question 8: Macross Frontier or Katanagatari?

  • The answer is AMacross Frontier because May’n sang a few songs for this series. While tracking everything down for these questions I happened to stumble on an interview May’n gave a few years ago and in it she talked about being excited about the chance to perform in America because she’d have the opportunity to visit our supermarkets and to buy pancake mix because our supermarkets are grander than those in Japan and our pancake mixes make better pancakes than mixes found in Japan. 🙂 I don’t know why but that put a smile on my face.

Question 10: What does the term “Manabi Line” mean?

  • It was once reported that the sales of the first volume for the anime Manabi Straight was right at the break even point for a typical anime so people that keep track of DVD/Blu Ray sales began to use that amount – 2,899 – as the indicator for the probable financial success or failure of an anime and called it the Manabi Line. Of course there’s many factors that actually play into if a certain anime was profitable or not but it’s still kind of handy to remember when reading about sales of an anime. Also, sales of over 10,000 is traditionally seen as a “hit” and almost always guarantees more of that anime will be made.

anime_quiz_06_05Refer to the following picture for questions 11 – 13.

Question 11: Arrange these four anime series from oldest to newest.

  • The correct order is C, A, D, B. Kino’s Journey, C, aired April 2003 and was followed by A – Samurai Champloo which aired May 2004. A – Freedom came next, November 2006, before finishing with B – Rolling Girls which started airing January 2015. I was surprised to see how old Freedom actually was, I had thought it was newer then that.

Question 12: All four series share a story similarity. What is it?

  • I was looking for anime that focused on traveling and/or going somewhere or some variation thereof.

Question 13: Three of the series share a related story similarity. What is it? For bonus points which three anime series?

  • I left the answer in the picture of the anime that probably was least watched but I guess this question was harder then I thought it would be. The answer I was looking for was three of these anime series featured a motorcycle(s) prominently. The three anime series were B, C, D.

anime_quiz_06_06Question 14: Name the Japanese seiyuu that voiced these four characters.

  • The answer is Megumi Han. The four roles, from left to right, are Sumire Hanano from Chihayafuru 2, Mushibugyou or Kuroageha from Mushibugyou, Jeanne d’Arc from Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis, and probably her best known role Gon Freecss from Hunter x Hunter.

anime_quiz_06_07Question 15: Name the Japanese seiyuu that voiced these four characters.

  • The answer is Saori Hayami. The four roles, from left to right, are – Yotsugi Ononoki from Monogatari Series: Second Season, Ikaros from Sora no Otoshimono, Hatoko Kushikawa from Inou-Battle wa Nichijou-kei no Naka de, and Miyuki Shiba from Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei.

To tally results:

jstorming – 4 points (12.5 points, I gave half credit for both 5 and 11)

miharusshi – 9.5 points (59.5 total points, half credit to 11 and full credit on 9)

Jim D – 9 points (49 total points, I gave full credit for 5 because the picture was a bit too small.)

Tune back on Monday for next week’s quiz

2 thoughts on “Anime Quiz 6 Answers”

  1. Wew. Those are some nice trivia. Seto Inland Sea, Manabi Line 🙂

    I remember watching/catching some episodes of Trigun on TV when I was in elementary school. I thought it was kinda cool and that Vash was a badass, but I don’t actually quite remember it today. I need to watch it in entirety.

    Like

  2. @miharusshi: Thanks, I was surprised to find out how many slice-of-life series use the Seto Inland Sea as it’s backdrop. If I ever get the chance to go to Japan I think I might just pass up Tokyo and go to places like the Inland Sea and Hokkaido.

    Like

Leave a Reply

