Test Your Anime Knowledge – Anime Quiz 6

The mid-season of this winter season is just about upon us now and the focus has shifted from figuring out which series to watch, based on how good of a first impression they left, to seeing if these shows can continue to deliver on their initial promises of quality. One series I’m surprised that is getting almost zero coverage is Yoru no Yatterman because I think it’s confidently making it’s case for being one of season’s best. Yes, it is walking a fine line by keeping some silly elements in a show that is very serious; however, it has been able to walk that fine line without falling. And in a larger sense, I’m a person whose often silliest at the most serious of times because that’s how I deal with it so some comedy to lighten one’s mood is a good thing as far as I’m concerned. Also, in the show, bringing the people a dose of anti-authoritative laughter is really a good weapon against the Yatterman dictatorship.

Speaking of laughter, let’s move on to this week’s anime quiz. 🙂

Question 1: Name the anime that features these three characters – Nicholas Wolfwood, Meryl Stryfe, Vash the Stampede.

Question 2: Name the anime that features these three characters – Konata Izumi, Kagami Hiiragi, Tsukasa Hiiragi.

Refer to the following picture for questions 3 – 4.

anime_quiz_06_01Question 3: Name the animation studios that animated these four anime shows.

Question 4: Name the geological similarity all four share.

Refer to the following picture for questions 5 – 9.

anime_quiz_06_02Question 5: Name these four anime series.

Question 6: These four series share a personal connection. What is it?

anime_quiz_06_03Question 7: Based on the personal connection in question 6, which anime series would fit in with these four anime series: A – Arpeggio of Blue Steel: Ars Nova or B – Aldnoah.Zero?

Question 8: Three of these series share a further personal connection similar in nature to the one in question 6. What is it?

anime_quiz_06_04Question 9: Based on the personal connection in question 8, what anime would fit in with the three anime series used in question 8: A – Macross Frontier or B – Katanagatari?

Question 10: What does the term “Manabi Line” mean?

Refer to the following picture for questions 11 – 13.

anime_quiz_06_05Question 11: Arrange these four anime series from oldest to newest.

Question 12: All four series share a story similarity. What is it?

Question 13: Three of the series share a related story similarity. What is it? For bonus points which three anime series?

anime_quiz_06_06Question 14: Name the Japanese seiyuu that voiced these four characters.

anime_quiz_06_07Question 15: Name the Japanese seiyuu that voiced these four characters.

11 thoughts on “Test Your Anime Knowledge – Anime Quiz 6”

  1. I really like Yoru no Yatterman. Perhaps the reason why it’s not being covered is because it IS walking that fine line between the comical and the clever. Not all of the jokes are funny (indeed, some are just plain awkward given how dark the premise is) but you have to give them points for attempting something different.

    1) Trigunnnnn
    2) Lucky Star
    3-4) ???
    5 a) BTOOOOM!; c) Phi Brain (don’t know the other two)
    6-9 nope….haha, this is why I dislike related questions
    10) Also, nope
    11-13) erkkkk…I recognize Samurai Champloo but that’s it.
    14) Megumi Han (Kuroageha is best girl)
    15) Oh look, it’s that Onii-sama girl from that terrible show last year…

    Like

  2. Yatterman is getting A LOT of attention from anitwitters, though. That said, I haven’t checked it out yet. Maybe I will once it ends. Hehe

    1) Trigun
    2) Lucky Star
    3) Dunno
    4) Okinawa (??)
    5) A – BTOOOM! (Wasn’t this included in one of the previous quizzes?)
    B – Mahou Sensou (I dropped this terribad show lol)
    C – Phi-brain: Kami no Puzzle
    D – M3: Sono Kuroki Hagane
    6) nano (THANK YOU FOR ASKING THIS. I’M A NANO FANGIRL 😀 )
    7) A (Wow. I just realized that she has sung quite a number of anime songs, hasn’t she? Also, isn’t this the first time you used this type of question? It’s cool.)
    8) This… I don’t know anymore
    9) A (Just guessing, though I really dunno. In this case, will this score a point if it’s correct?)
    10) Is it a sakuga fandom term/homage?
    11) C, D, A, B (Woot. Just guessing)
    12) Traveling across the land/to different places
    13) Soul searching? A, C, D?
    14) Han Megumi
    15) Hayamin~~~ (Hayami Saori ❤ )

    Like

  3. 1. Trigun (which I’m actually watching again right now)
    2. Lucky Star
    3. ??
    4. ??
    5. A is Btooom, C is Phi Brain, D is M3. I don’t recognize B
    6. ??
    7. ??
    8. A, C, and D all have songs sung by May’n
    9. Macross Frontier
    *slight pause while this Macross fan curses Harmony Gold under his breath*
    %%%%%%
    Anyway, moving on…
    10. The theoretical amount of DVD/BD sales that a late-night anime series needs to average in order to break even (i.e. not lose money).
    11. C, A, D, B (Just a guess. I only recognize Samurai Champloo and Rolling Girls, and the former only by the picture – I’ve never seen it.)
    12. ??
    13. ??
    14. Megumi Han
    15. Saori “I don’t understand a single word you say, Ju-kun!” Hayami. If you’re doing a “best scene” recap for your Best of 2014, I hope that one is somewhere on the list. Like Andou, I had to pick my jaw up off the floor by the time she was done.

    Like

  4. @jstorming: Yes, trying to be different should be of some value. It should at least make people slow down on hair-trigger conclusions.

    @miharusshi: I never could quite convince myself that I wanted to invest the time needed to do Twitter right.

    Yes, I did ask for Btooom!’s name before but I needed it for this question to work out. And thanks, yes, this is the first time I used that type of question. I’ll probably use it again though maybe not so many on a single quiz.

    @Jim D.: How are you liking Trigun this time around?

    I’ve yet to watch any Macross and I even know that Harmony Gold should be cursed at 🙂

    Not sure if I can work in a best scene list but if I did, that one definitely would rank near the top.

    Like

  5. I think a lot of people (like me!) want to follow you on twitter! I don’t think there’s a right way of doing the anitwitter thing. As long as you have something to say (that maybe won’t suit in your blog), there are people (like me!) who will be interested to hear from you and know what you think of (certain anime).

    Like

  6. I’m still enjoying Trigun just as much as ever. The only thing that’s gotten a bit dated these days is the animation, but the plot, characters, and music haven’t lost anything. I suspect some younger anime fans might think it takes too long for the main plot to get going, though, since most of the first half is either episodic or two-episode short arcs, climaxing in a dreaded “recap” episode, before Legato and the Gung-Ho Guns finally show up. Any of us who cut our teeth on 90’s anime are used to those things, but for people who think the three episodes Madoka takes to reveal its true colors is two episodes too long, I can just imagine what they’d think about Trigun’s main antagonists not appearing until the series is more than half-over.

    Like

  7. @miharusshi: I can remember Kitsune from Kitsune’s Thoughts saying something similar about me getting on twitter a few years ago. At that time Twitter was burning through money and couldn’t seem to earn a profit which made me worried about what they’d eventually do to start turning a profit. Now that it’s been a few years and the service hasn’t fallen apart yet maybe it’s time to reexamine my stance on Twitter.

    @Jim: I’ve been rewatching old Doctor Who serials and, at first, it was weird to see how often the actual bad guy of a four part serial didn’t show up until some point in the third episode, sometimes it’s even the fourth one.

    The thing with Madoka was I thought it dropped plenty of hints in the first episode that something serious was at work behind the scenes and episode 3 was just the confirmation of that.

    Like

  8. I really really hope you’d make a twitter. XD We’ve (I and Kitsuneechan) been talking about you getting a twitter, and she always mentioned how you haven’t been moved to make one.

    Like

  9. Well as someone who is firmly anti-twitter, I say stick to your guns!

    I agree with you about Madoka, I was just using it as an example. Frankly, anyone who’s already seen Mai-Hime (another series that took ages to show its cards) should know right away what they’re in for, because Homura’s introduction is a near-perfect homage to Natsuki Kuga’s introduction in Mai-Hime: both of them burst onto the scene trying to kill another main character, and warning the heroine not to get involved with what’s going on.

    Like

  10. Before Twitter, I think I would first try to set up an ask.fm account since I’ve seen that platform used well on a couple different blogs and I could see how the right interesting questions could be the basis of a good blog entry and I’m always on the hunt for those 🙂 .

    Not sure about the level of spam/creepy questions one would have to wade through over there or how easy they make it to clear that stuff away (WordPress makes spam practically pain free) but I see the use of ask.fm.

    I think a lot of my tweets, if I used Twitter, would be me proclaiming how one anime or another is awesome. Currently, it would be Shirobako. Watching that show gives me this happy buzzy feeling of contentment. The blogger in me is telling me, even now as I contemplate joining Twitter, that instead of merely saying what I love I should write about why I love it and I think that’s a pretty good argument against Twitter. On the other hand I’ve got like six Twitter accounts bookmarked – which really feels very 1990’s to me – and I imagine it would be easier to just follow these people with my own account. 🙂

    Like

  11. Oh yes, definitely! Ask is a good place to start with, if you’re still not that comfortable at microblogging that twitter offers. Ask also has a larger character limit than twitter, so it can be a good place to discuss on anime. 🙂

    Ask itself sends a question of the day. Spam or not, most of them are pretty random and you can make fun with it, if you choose to. (I don’t take all ask answers seriously hehe am I bad?)

    I see. I see. If twitter’s not your option, at least you’re considering ask.fm, which is good. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

