The Null Set Is Now 7 Years Old

It’s actually been seven years for a couple of days now, the anniversary was this past Wednesday, January 21 and I needed one of those sometimes helpful WordPress notifications to remind me of it. 🙂

To all the frequent readers and occasional readers of The Null Set – I wish you a very big, sincere Thank you!!. To all the people who commented on my posts – I loved and appreciated each comment, even if I was a poor blog owner and took entirely too long to respond or neglected to do so. I’ve also enjoy seeing the “shares” and “likes” because that means, even if the person didn’t leave a comment, the post was good enough to elicit a response. I can’t promise the upcoming year will be a better year here for The Null Set but I want it to be.

Beyond what needs done for posts like this I’ve tried always to add some meat to help justify people reading past the title and also to do something for the site to mark the date. In my first year anniversary post I decided to stop going nameless, taking the name steelbound, so I could separate myself from The Null Set, if I ever decided to host other writers. For my second, I mentioned spending much of the second half of the year depressed over realizing I was probably never going to do justice to what I wanted The Null Set to be before accepting this and realizing people were still coming anyways which reinvigorated me to continue working on The Null Set. And so on; I talked about why I wanted to start a blog, what I almost called it – The Otaku Spider, the original plan for the site, etc.. Last year I updated the theme, fixed early formatting problems and the egregious spelling/grammar errors I found while doing so.

This year I can’t think of anything new to do or say – this is the seventh time I’m writing a version of this post, after all.

Once again, I wrote several posts I was proud of this past year but still fell short overall of being proud of the effort I gave to The Null Set. I’m stubborn, though, so I plan to keep writing and trying to push The Null Set closer to that theoretical best case version.

zrSax4ZOne of the problems with writing and following anime blogs for so long is there is so many anime blogs out there that have gone dark so one of the highlights to me of 2014 in anime fandom was that we got one of the great blogs back – I mean, of course, Kitsune’s Thoughts. Maybe 2015 will see others return. I’ve never expected bloggers to pump content out if it’s not possible for whatever reason. A monthly, seasonal, or yearly post about what they’re watching (even if it’s only a couple things) would be just fine.

That’s enough ruminating. I’ll close this post with the traditional look at numbers.

My Top 10 most viewed posts of 2014:

Dear Aniplex, You’re Setting Puella Magi Madoka Magica Up to Fail In America and You Probably Won’t Even Know Why 2,484
My Top 20 Anime of All-Time – #20 to #11 2,441
Sword Art Online is Annoyingly Bad 1,601
Film Review – Pixar’s UP 1,523
My Top 20 Anime of All-Time – #10 to #1 1,382
Spring Anime Reviews – Library War 1,273
Top 5 All-time Anime Comedies 1,211
Ping Pong OST – A Review 1,186
If Anime Is Dead Then Death Has Never Looked So Good 1,021
Clannad Wallpapers 3 1,016

On October 12, 2014 The Null Set hit 1.5 million total hits. With the beating this blog took a couple years back when Google changed their algorithm it’s going to be a long time before The Null Set sees 2 million.

In seven years The Null Set has had:

  • 601 blog posts (52 posts this last year)
  • 1,524,713 views (81,448 views this last year)
  • 2,555 comments (185 comments this year)
  • 193,600 spam comments (14,334 spam comments  this year)
6 thoughts on “The Null Set Is Now 7 Years Old”

  1. Seven years! Yay! Congratulations, Steelbound! ^_^

    Wishing you many more years of productive blogging! Even if it is not as fruitful as before, I hope you’ll enjoy writing every post and never feel like it is work! 🙂

    I especially like your new blog theme and new interesting types of posts, such as Anime Quizzes!

    ahaha That’s a cute picture! Thank you for mentioning me! I am happy to be back and look forward to more writing and reading this year! 😀

    Looking at the numbers, I wonder why top 10 anime got less views than 10-20 by about 1000. Oh, also congratulations on 1.5 million hits and over 2500 comments!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. @miharusshi: Thank you! I always wondered if I had lurkers 🙂

    @Artemis: Thank you! Most days I’d be happy with posts that are literate without glaring spelling and grammar mistakes.

    @TPAB~: Thank you!

    @Jamie: Thank you! Sometimes it feels like a long time since I started and other times it feels surprising recent.

    @Kitsune: Thank you! I look forward to whatever you got planned for the next year.

    Maybe the anime covered in #10-20 yielded more hits from the search engines?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

