The 12 Days of Anime Christmas – Day 12: Going Nuclear or The Reason for the Season

And with the above picture, I give my leave and wish everyone a Merry Christmas!

Just kidding. Not about the Merry Christmas part.

Because this project is really 11 Days of Advent and 1 Day of Christmas, I like to end with something related to Christmas. So for this year I’m picking a moment from episode 126 from Hunter x Hunter. With the Chimera Ant arc, Yoshihiro Togashi has done a wonderful job pulling apart – deconstructing – the shounen action hero genre. In today’s moment the strongest fighter humanity has produced is attempting to stop humanity’s biggest threat – the king of the Chimera Ants. In the end he is successful, not because he’s a better or stronger fighter, but because humans play much dirtier then our villain thought possible.

The king was already deciding that the incorporation of human traits and personalities was a mistake for the Chimera Ants; but, the king made the mistake of thinking the best, most honorable, humans were not also capable of less then honorable acts as well.

This got me thinking about humans in real life and, if I was in charge of things, I don’t know if I’d’ve bothered to go through the whole process – being made human, being born in a stable, etc. – just to save humanity. I don’t know if we’re worth it. Luckily, I’m not the one in charge.

And on that cheery note, I will end with a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

