Anime Pet Peeve #17: The OP/ED Gives Away Too Much of the Story

[Mezashite] Gokukoku no Brynhildr - 09 [E7A16F72].mkv_snapshot_21.23_[2014.06.20_02.00.03]Gokukoku no Brynhildr has been a trip. I’ve been unsure if it’s been a good trip or a bad trip since episode 1; though, I think I’m slowly deciding it’s been a good trip even with the anime trying to sabotage itself.

For those that aren’t watching Gokukoku no Brynhildr, this anime is about a group of high school girls who happen to be alien hybrids with superpowers and the efforts of the main character, a normal human high school boy, to protect them once they escaped from the secret lab that created them. The lab, being very smart people, created a fail-safe to deal with any girl that would become a danger to the lab. If these super-powered female alien hybrids can find a way to circumvent the fail-safe – which, when it activates, turns the girl into a pile of goo – it is possible to run away from the lab. (At least until the other fail-safe kicks in.)

At the end of episode 9, our band of scrappy heroes have just about turned an agent of the lab sent to retrieve them but the episode ends before showing if our heroes can disconnect this agent’s fail-safe. I’m pretty sure they were expecting this to be a cliffhanger ending to ensure we all would tune back in next week for episode 10; where, they’d tease us for as long as possible to ramp the tension up over will she get turned into a pile of goo or not.

[Mezashite] Gokukoku no Brynhildr - 09 [E7A16F72].mkv_snapshot_23.30_[2014.06.20_01.49.34]The problem with this is the opening and closing songs have featured a set cast of characters from episode 1, including characters we’d only meet later on, and this girl wasn’t there. This told me she wasn’t going to make it and guess what? She didn’t make it. So, instead of being emotionally vested in if she was going to live or not, I spent the time tapping my foot waiting for the show to get going again and stop wasting it’s time.

I’ve seen this happen before and I always wonder if the animators do this accidentally or do they think the viewers are not smart enough to catch it. I’d really like to know.

What would actually have been rather cool is if they’d’ve stuck her in the opening and closing like she was going to be the next haremette to join the main character’s harem of female alien hybrids only to kill her in episode 10. That would have shocked me good and I’d instead be writing here about how smart and awesome the animators of Gokukoku no Brynhildr were to have tricked the viewers like that. (Though, I’d still complain about them ditching the best opening of the spring season after nine episodes for a lesser song.)

Oh well, that’s why Arms animation studio isn’t among the top tier anime companies.

3 thoughts on “Anime Pet Peeve #17: The OP/ED Gives Away Too Much of the Story”

  1. I’ve always been affected by that, too. But I don’t think the journey of an anime could be truly completed by simply fast-forwarding through the opening and closing tracks. Once I’ve noticed something or the absence of someone in it, I can never get my mind off of it and just like you I tap my foot in anticipation.

    Like

  2. I must say that the anime of Gokukoku no Brynhildr’s has rather vexed me in that they didn’t cut any corners with the beginning of the series, but they are stuffing the ending into a couple of episodes. (Unless another season is planned.) The battle between Kuroneko and Valkyria stands as one of the most exciting parts of the manga, but they have essentially compressed chapters 72-100 into episodes twelve and thirteen. I wish that they had devoted four or five episodes to these chapters instead, but the battles would no doubt have had a higher production value than their budget could afford.

    But, I still think that it’s an enjoyable show, but so much less than it could have been.

    Like

  3. “I’ve seen this happen before and I always wonder if the animators do this accidentally or do they think the viewers are not smart enough to catch it. I’d really like to know.”

    Your problem is that you think too much. Average intelligence people can’t make intuitive judgments or connect the dots from that. They may suspect, of course, but they wouldn’t drill it into their brain as an Absolute Edict either, until after they are done enjoying the show at least.

    I’m used to plot twists from VNs. They are devilishly hard to read, even though I can sometimes guess the pattern framework of it, but the thing is so long usually I’m always collecting more and more clues.

    Like

Leave a Reply

