The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 9: Someone Who Understands Me

12days_fireworks01

It’s often said that an anime (or any show/book) needs to have a character that is a stand-in for the audience – someone that’s familiar and they can relate to. Hence all the loser high school male characters.

I’ve never understood this.

One of the reasons to create a work of entertainment is to create a sense of escapism and what better way to escape then to inhabit another point of view. This is what I try to do with each anime I watch; I try to walk a mile in the character’s shoes and see the story from their standpoint. (A side effect of this is my tolerance for bad writing forcing a character to act contrary to character is very, very low.)

This probably helps explain some of my preferences in anime and why I believe creating a cast of interesting characters is a fundamental first step to building good anime.

No maxim is applicable 100% of the time, however. It is possible to create a good anime without creating an appealing cast of characters and sometimes I like to see someone who understands me.

I like to take photographs so Tamayura often skates close to personal experiences but episode 8 of the latest season, aka Tamayura ~more aggressive~ , really hit home. One of the non-photo taking characters mentions that taking pictures of fireworks must be easy. As I’m mentally answering with a big fat negative – fireworks are a royal pain to photograph well – the two photograph club students say exactly the same thing.

[Nishi-Taku] Tamayura ~more aggressive~ - 08 [720P Hi10P][CA95B1DE].mkv_snapshot_04.52_[2013.08.30_21.11.21]

[Nishi-Taku] Tamayura ~more aggressive~ - 08 [720P Hi10P][CA95B1DE].mkv_snapshot_04.42_[2013.08.30_21.09.54]

This surprised me.

Firstly because, instinctively, I think fireworks should be easy to take pictures of and, secondly, because I thought I was the only one that had problems taking pictures of fireworks.

Instead, this moment from Tamayura showed me that someone else out there in the world has the same problem I do. As an occasional occurrence, a moment like this is a nice thing and, since this moment from Tamayura ~more aggressive~  was the best example of this, I’m picking this moment for today. Besides, this gives me an excuse to show off the firework pictures I took this past July 4th.

More bad ones:

12days_fireworks02

12days_fireworks03

I could put up the other 20 bad pictures but you get the idea.

And now, the only acceptable ones I took that day:

12days_fireworks04

12days_fireworks05

Now, let me return to pondering how it feels to be on each corner of a love triangle, White Album 2, how it feels to be a cultural imperialist and on the receiving end of said cultural imperialism, Outbreak Company, and how to make peace with the duel-edged sword that is tradition and community expectations, Nagi no Asukara. To name a few.

So, to pick up from yesterday:

On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: someone who understands me.
On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: the best thing Bones ever did.
On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: pearls from amongst the swine.
On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: the freedom to go with the flow.
On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: anime to get buzzed from.
On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: that final musical montage.
On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: discovered gems during the Animusic Tournament.
On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: the Time of Eve Kickstarter.
On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: that publicity picture.

Tune in tomorrow to see what’s next.

Leave a Reply

