The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 4: That Final Musical Montage

12days_pet01

It has been said by the esteemed Baka-Raptor that JC Staff has a talent for fading in it’s ending songs into the anime itself for maximum emotional impact. I would have to agree. I think this might be JC Staff’s only real talent, but that’s a discussion for another day 🙂 .

Continuing into this year’s winter season were two series animated by JC Staff. The first was Little Busters and the second was Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo. The first was the higher profile work and the one generating more discussion in the blogosphere – both positive and negative. Among the problems I had with Little Busters was how emotionally flat it was. In this respect the other JC Staff series, Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo, had it beat by a long shot. The difference likely stemmed from Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo having Mari Okada as it’s writer; since a Key work like Little Busters shouldn’t have lacked in the emotional department.

Mari Okada isn’t a perfect writer/series compositioner; however, she will almost assuredly get me to like the characters in the shows she’s involved with. Take the sometimes maligned Hanasaku Iroha. I will agree the plot can sometimes wander a bit. At the end of the day, nonetheless, I liked the entire cast (except that wimpy boy Ohana leaves behind) and the growth many of the characters go through in the series so if the plot wandered a bit and focused on this character or that character – I didn’t care.

The same can be said for Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo. The plot was sometimes a bit wobbly but it got there in the end, finishing with a strong dramatic and emotional climax that was one of the best this year.

How emotionally invested I had gotten over this anime became apparent when, in the final minutes of the last episode, the first ending song fades in and we’re treated to a montage of each character’s main high and low points from the entire series. 15 seconds in and my eyes are leaking tears, 30 seconds in and tears are just pouring down. By the end I’m a blubbering mess – thankfully I was alone at the time 🙂 . I think I quickly loaded up Shinsekai Yori or Psycho-Pass to stop the waterworks.

Well played JC Staff, Mari Okada, and Konomi Suzuki.

12days_pet

For being the perfect way to end an anime series and for probably being what made me shed the most tears this year, it’s this moment I’m choosing for today.

As a side note, I discovered today that this final montage has lost none of it’s potency. It had been roughly nine months and dozens of anime series since I’d last seen it; however, when I watched it before writing this post, I still found myself tearing up.

So, to pick up from yesterday:

On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: that final musical montage.
On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: discovered gems during the Animusic Tournament.
On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: the Time of Eve Kickstarter.
On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: that publicity picture.

Tune in tomorrow to see what’s next.

One thought on “The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 4: That Final Musical Montage”

  1. “Among the problems I had with Little Busters was how emotionally flat it was.”

    I haven’t finished LB VN, but it didn’t feel like Clannad. I think the theme here was childhood friends and comedy/fun. In the VN, you had mini games, which WERE fun. You also had skits and various other things which may or may not have been fun. I doubt that they could have actually transferred much of that to an anime. Unless they were comedy masters like Arakawa under Bridge.

    LB felt a lot more like a satire of a lot of things, like manga school battles, and so forth. A focus on the comedy would have been better for a tv adaptation.

    Btw, I see what you did there on the joke about JC staff. I laughed out loud at that one.

    “since a Key work like Little Busters shouldn’t have lacked in the emotional department.”

    Yea, you might think that, but Key has “themes” they work into their products. They didn’t call Clannad by the Scottish Clan word and use an Irish/Scottish folk song of love lost at the end of Tomoyo’s route by mistake. While kids can face cruel and emotional moments, if they are focusing on the good things in childhood, they aren’t really going down that route.

    Code Geass R2 is probably the ending I remember the most from anime. That and Utawarerumono pc vn. Btw, Edward Snowden would be a perfect cast for Zero in the rollercoaster of Code Geass, or vice a versa.

    Like

Leave a Reply

