The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 1: That Publicity Picture

Before I go on, I want to pause a moment to remember my computer monitor. After 11+ years of tirelessly serving up the pixels of everything from late night Civilization III and 4 binges to the latest anime fresh from the internet, it finally gave up the ghost this past week. I’ll miss that one red pixel which, five or six years ago, stubbornly refused to turn off and shown on in the darkest night and whitest snow. I’ll even miss the ever so slight impression of the Sim City 3000 UI that many years ago burned onto the left side and bottom of the screen. Bought when CRTs were still the norm, I never regretted paying the $1100 dollars for it’s 19 inches of flat screen 1280 x 1024 goodness.

With that said, let’s move on.

The moment I’m choosing today is the moment I first saw this picture …

12days_titan

It’s very rare for a publicity picture of an upcoming anime to elicit any type of response from me; however, I can still remember the moment I laid my eyes on this picture and I felt my mind short-circuit in awe. I knew down to the very marrow of my bones that I wanted needed to see Attack on Titan now.

The resulting show didn’t always live up to the promise that first picture had; but, I can still feel the adrenaline as some part of me enters it’s fight-or-flight response when I look at the publicity picture.

So, let’s start with:

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: that publicity picture.

Tune in tomorrow to see what’s next.

One thought on “The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 1: That Publicity Picture”

Leave a Reply

