The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 12: I Love You

fall201216627

If I didn’t already say so, I wish all my readers a very Merry Christmas!

I know nobody wants to spend a bunch of time reading blog posts today so I’m going keep it short. I wanted to start with a love powered moment and end with a love powered moment and the instant I saw this scene I knew I’d be picking it for this the last day of the 12 Days of Christmas (though technically, the real 12 days of Christmas starts on Christmas).

The scene is Rikka’s confession of love to Yuuta underneath the bridge in episode 10 of Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!.

I could say this scene is today’s moment because of the massive level of work Kyoto Animation put into it so that it would be the very definition of perfection but that’s doesn’t really explain it correctly. The better explanation is that I felt the genuine, sincere love Rikka and Yuuta have for each other – not mere affection, lust, interest, or the facsimile of love that are so prevalent in anime, especially in so-called “romance/comedy” anime series – and it just melted my heart. I want to Remember the Love because it is the reason for this season and that makes it the perfect way to end.

Good job Kyoto Animation, that’s why you’re the best.

fall201217331

So, to pick up from yesterday:

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a love powered mecha.
On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a wake up call.
On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a unique form of culture shock.
On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a masterpiece to savor.
On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a shock to the heart.
On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a pair of comfortable old slippers.
On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a wink and a nudge.
On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: Botox for the facial spasms.
On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a reality check.
On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a warm fuzzy memory.
On the eleventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a reckoning of my failures.
On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: the reason for the season.

If you missed any of the previous days, you can use the links above (the darker red part of each line) to see what you missed.

2 thoughts on “The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 12: I Love You”

  1. I found the two mains in Sword Art Online to be the most recently touching in media. It wasn’t until near the end of the story in text format, that I realized it was a love story as well as various other genres. Surprisingly, the anime brought about some great body language touches to the communication.

    Like

  2. “Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!”

    After finishing that title just now, I can now say it is a very entertaining series. The philosophy being on the level for entry level teenagers and high school students, makes sense. With enough life experience and regrets, they may come to see that belief can change the nature of a man. Even if the belief in itself cannot change the fabric of reality by itself, what it can do is motivate the actions of humans: their spirit, their minds, their hearts, and their bodies. Without inspiration and belief, such things as the nuclear bomb or medicine would never have been developed, with its concurrent effects on reality itself. All those things didn’t come from nature, but from some person’s brain realized unto actuality through action. To me, it doesn’t matter what it is people say they believe, for what I pay more attention to is the fervour of their actions. Does what they claim to cherish, become something they would die or kill for, or is it merely a rationalization for avoiding some trouble or difficulty? The strength of the belief matters first to me, and what it is about, second. For practical reasons, it is another way of saying fools can be ignored, but rulers, assassins, and warriors are harder to ignore. What inspires humans becomes the important issue, for it is what determines human actions.

    While people certainly shouldn’t use fantasy to escape from reality to the point where they ignore their own emotions, at the same time, one should not deny one’s previous experiences for that is the same as denying one’s own existence.

    While Japan being a very regimented society where many things are expected through obedience to social rules that Americans would never imagine would exist, we still see parallels in the US. A weak non confident member of a clique will ignore people that the leaders of the clique also ignore, for fear of being turned out from the group and treated hostilely. Even if the person the group ignores is kind or a good person, the will of the weak member is subordinate to the “group” and thus it is not a judgment made upon strong foundations. The weak member does what the group does not because he thinks it is the best choice, but because he fears the consequences too much to disobey.

    P.S. I forgot to mention this before, but the main in Steins;Gate kept talking about Chuunibyou, but I never got a specific definition of the idiomatic terminology. I suppose it was one of those “common sense” things that the Japanese audience was supposed to get automatically.

    P.P.S
    Dog Days S1 and S2 were pretty good too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

