The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 10: Impressing the Ladies

fall201219386

Now that Christmas is fast approaching and I’m running out of days, I see one drawback to writing these entries ahead of time. With anime series still ongoing I might be passing over a moment worthy of inclusion that airs before now and posting this. For example, the inclusion of Space Brothers here is a no-brainer but the moment that probably should go here is the moment that Mutta finds out that he will get to be an astronaut. That he will is a fait accompli much like most of this series (which is not a bad thing) but it hasn’t happened at the time of writing this so instead I’m using a different moment.

This moment was a particular scene in episode 3 of Space Brothers that meant many things to me, in the end. It was scene where Mutta is looking into the helmet of an astronaut suit that was display and trying to see if his reflection would make it look like he was inside the suit. To his disappointment it didn’t and when he stepped back he realized Serika, a female fellow astronaut candidate saw him do it. He was embarrassed – can’t look silly in front of a woman – but Serika just smiles and blushes. We find out a little later that her father had done the same thing when she visited JAXA as a kid.

I’ve already mentioned a moment where an anime series convinces me that it’s worth a watch. This scene was the equivalent for Space Brothers; I knew I was in good hands. This scene also was the point where I decided Serika was an awesome female character – anime always needs more female characters that don’t feel like a walking collection of clichés – and that I totally wanted Serika and Mutta to become a couple – I’m a sucker for a good romantic couple in my anime. This scene also helped convince me of how the characters were going to be treated in Space Brothers. It strongly reminded me of Cross Game in that the original creator’s love for each and every character easily shines through the anime. And also that each character would be treated with respect and would never be asked to do something he or she would never naturally do because the story had to go in a direction that the creator wanted but couldn’t figure out how to naturally do it. If I get attached to a character I get angry when they do forced to do something they wouldn’t really do. This scene also stuck out in my memory because I remember thinking that the inclusion of an automatic defibrillator in the background was such an odd authentic touch.

And looking back at this point we finally understand the true depth of this scene and I won’t lie – I got something stuck in my eye that made me tear up when I was looking for a screenshot to include.

fall201219954

So, to pick up from yesterday:

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a love powered mecha.
On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a wake up call.
On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a unique form of culture shock.
On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a masterpiece to savor.
On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a shock to the heart.
On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a pair of comfortable old slippers.
On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a wink and a nudge.
On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: Botox for the facial spasms.
On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a reality check.
On the tenth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a warm fuzzy memory.

Tune in tomorrow to see what’s next.

Leave a Reply

