The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 9: Jiminy Crickets!

fall201214012

White Fox is a relatively new animation studio with only three works to there credit before this year: Tears to Tiara – surprisingly watchable for a series I was sure I’d drop, Katanagatari – excellent but was unable to shake the feeling that Shaft would have done this NisiOisiN work better, and Steins;Gate – one of the top anime of 2011. If each series had been created with the same crew of people then the name White Fox would mean something like when Kyoto Animation, Bones, Shaft are attached to an anime; but, that’s not the case. This makes gauging a new anime from White Fox a more difficult proposition until some consistency forms.

Jormungand might just be were White Fox begins earning that name with it’s director – Keitarou Motonaga – and music composer – Taku Iwasaki – returning from Katanagatari and using a similar animation style to that of Steins;Gate.

From the beginning Jormungand definitely had many things going for it but the apparent lack of an overarching plot took a bit to get used to. It felt more like a slice-of-life story that happened to feature an arms dealer and her mercenary band of bodyguards then the political thriller that this type of setting always seems to end up being. So it was a question of getting one’s expectations in order and when the second half of Jormungand began airing this fall I figured I had my expectations properly ironed out when it became apparent there was a overarching plot taking place with many hints dropped in the first season that only made sense now. Suddenly Koko’s remark in the first episode when Jonah asked her why she sold weapons and she answered ‘For world peace’ became much more relevant.

Knowing Koko, she had a devious idea to bring about world peace and in episode 22 she finally revealed what it was and it was pretty tricky. The one problem is it would require the around 700,000 people currently in airplanes dieing. This did not sit well with Jonah and he pulled his gun out to confront Koko.

It’s this moment that is today’s moment because it was such a powerful moment to witness after all the character development and story building that was done in the lead up to this scene. I also enjoyed how White Fox had the confidence to not see the need to explain the importance of this scene to the viewer by cluttering it up with unnecessary dialogue or some other unneeded “help”.

At the point of writing this (December 14) I do not know what happens next but I know I can’t wait to see.

fall201231184

So, to pick up from yesterday:

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a love powered mecha.
On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a wake up call.
On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a unique form of culture shock.
On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a masterpiece to savor.
On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a shock to the heart.
On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a pair of comfortable old slippers.
On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a wink and a nudge.
On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: Botox for the facial spasms.
On the ninth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a reality check.

Tune in tomorrow to see what’s next.

Leave a Reply

