The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 8: It’s Time to Drop Your Earl Grey, Picard

spring1119561

Much like print science fiction, prognostications about the coming demise of anime have been occurring since before I become an anime fan with different people blaming different culprits. Death from moe has been one of the more vocally pushed ideas so I always smile when an anime comes along that continues to disprove this possibility. This year saw several anime – including the awesome Space Brothers – that continue to buck this supposed trend, though, sometimes these anime a bit difficult to find.

Such is the case of an anime that aired last year, Hyouge Mono.

Hyouge Mono was a 39 episode history-comedy series about a low ranking feudal lord who lived during the Sengoku era and tried to balance his aesthetic (tea drinking) soul with the need to be a successful soldier to advance in society. From what I gathered, it featured a more archaic form of Japanese which lead to only a single fansub group picking it up. As time went on the releases slowly spaced out; but, that was to be expected from a one person fansub group and each episode was worth the wait.

April of this year saw the 14th episode of Hyouge Mono released. I figured the next episode would be out by the end of summer but August arrived and I came across a note apologizing saying this person wouldn’t be able to finish. Understandable, if I was upset it was at the R1 licensors that didn’t even bother to stream it, much less release it on DVD when they’re more then willing to release utter sludge like Hidan no Aria (or whatever Funimation is calling it).

I figured that I’d never get to finish it but then one day a couple of weeks ago I happened to see a file purporting to be episode 17 of Hyouge Mono. I didn’t believe it. I followed the link back and saw that they’d released episodes 15 and 16 a couple of days previously. I checked the comments, sure this was an exceedingly late April Fools Joke but there was no mention of anything wrong. I crossed my fingers and took the plunge.

A half hour later I had not one, not two, but three episodes of Hyouge Mono to watch with the promise of more. I was giddy like a kid on Christmas morning and it is this moment that I’m picking for today. Thank you Doremi and Huzzah for subbing one of the best series of 2011.

fall201210484

So, to pick up from yesterday:

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a love powered mecha.
On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a wake up call.
On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a unique form of culture shock.
On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a masterpiece to savor.
On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a shock to the heart.
On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a pair of comfortable old slippers.
On the seventh day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a wink and a nudge.
On the eighth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: Botox for the facial spasms.

Tune in tomorrow to see what’s next.

One thought on “The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 8: It’s Time to Drop Your Earl Grey, Picard”

  1. Strangely enough, some of the more archaic mannerisms are better understood by me, although the vocabulary is still hard to crack unless I’ve heard it a few times before.

    Some characters use a form of japanese speech that is obviously different form the more modern version, but it’s very good and rich for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

