The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 4: Taking It To the Next Level

Binbougami_ga01

Anime blogging has helped me better appreciate anime because I have to answer the question – Why did I like or dislike this anime? – before I can blog about it and answering that question has led me to more ways to enjoy an anime. Admittingly, I don’t have the depth of knowledge about music like that can be found at Anime Instrumentality, or about animation like that found at Ani no Miyako, or even about vocal acting/actors like at hashihime – Anime Voices which helps make all three blogs places I like to frequently read and reread. Or the other parts like quality of the writing, series composition, directing, and filmography that don’t really have specialty blogs devoted to them. I do try, at least, to be knowledgeable enough to be dangerous, though 🙂 .

Even an amateur like me knows the name Hana Kanazawa and knows she’s done many wonderful roles in the past – Potemayo from Potemayo, Nadeko Sengoku from Bakemonogatari, Anri Sonohara from Durarara!!, Tenshi/Kanade Tachibana from Angel Beats!, Chiaki from Boda­cious Pir­ates. (Another failing of Fractale was that it somehow made Hana Kanazawa annoying to listen to.) So I figured that I had an accurate measure of her ability and I was right until Binbougami ga! came along.

I was shocked; I knew it was Hana Kanazawa voicing Ichiko but I didn’t think she was this good. I started trying to figure why and in short order I realized the role of Ichiko gave Hana Kanazawa plenty of meat to really go big with and, no less importantly, she had Yumi Uchiyama co-starring as Momiji the Poverty God who was up to the task of matching the quality of work from Hana Kanazawa and pushing her to do better. Actually, it was probably a case of both actresses feeding off the performance of the other to push themselves more.

There were many memorable moments from Binbougami ga! but for today I’m picking the moment that Ichiko and Momiji got into their first argument. It was comedic gold and, by paying enough attention to vocal acting beforehand, I could really relish that moment when I got to hear two artists at the top of their craft. I just knew 13 episodes wasn’t going to be long enough for Binbougami ga! and I was right.

So, to pick up from yesterday:

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a love powered mecha.
On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a wake up call.
On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a unique form of culture shock.
On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a masterpiece to savor.

Tune in tomorrow to see what’s next.

One thought on “The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 4: Taking It To the Next Level”

  1. “Actually, it was probably a case of both actresses feeding off the performance of the other to push themselves more.”

    I’ve had suspicions concerning what goes on behind the scenes for VAs for some time now. For example, many of the voiced lines from visual novels are similar or the same as their anime counter parts, but the audio quality in VAs is extraordinarily higher. I attributed most of the difference to the setting, context, dramatic setup, but part of it must also be what’s actually going on with the environment around the actors themselves. The Obiwan actor in Star Wars 1-3 said it was very distracting and hard to focus when all he saw were a bunch of boxes and green background. It was one of the reasons why on the movie screen, he was in an elevator going up, and the view outside was a gorgeous alien landscape, but he paid it no attention and seemed very very bored. That stuff gets across even if the actor tries to concentrate on doing otherwise, because human body language is hard to fake, even for trained spies.

    It was easier to tell, since the lines were the same and the actors were the same and the plot was the same. So the variable that had to have changed was the recording environment and the artistic background work for the dramatic context and artistic direction.

    I’m not sure what you mean by superior vs inferior performance though, since that’s a very abstract concept for audio work. There’s no objective comparison without the same VA doing the same lines, which I prefer using.

    Like

Leave a Reply

