The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 2: Sucker Punch to the Gut

summer201229624

Watching anime with someone, especially when I’m introducing that person to one of the great anime series, is normally a high point in my anime fandom. Sometimes, though, I get stuck watching a series that I don’t particularly care for like when my one sister wanted to start watching Hunter x Hunter together. She’s way more into shounen anime then me and was excited to see it. I wasn’t after previously watching a few episodes on my own, but it was hard to say no and so I started watching Hunter x Hunter together with her. Through the first few story arcs, it was as I feared – not a bad series but it was not a good series either.

This changed, rather suddenly, during episode 35 when Madhouse opened their wallets and allowed the animators to give their ‘A’ game with the fight between Gon and Hisoka. I remember holding my breath in rapt attention as Gon and Hisoka traded punches and kicks and tricks wholly focused on beating each other. There was no pauses as one party or the other monologued, no screaming silly named attacks, no stopping to look meaningfully at each other – it was just a plain, well-animated, intensely choreographed fight scene between two opponents with a real reason to fight each other. I wish more anime fights were like this.

It’s this moment that I’m picking for today because it was the start of Hunter x Hunter’s climb to being one of the best anime series currently airing  and, by itself, made the time spent on the earlier episodes worth it

So, to pick up from yesterday:

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a love powered mecha.
On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a wake up call.

Tune in tomorrow to see what’s next.

Leave a Reply

