Wishing Everyone A Belated Happy Civil Disobedience Day (aka July 4th)

I realize only about a third of the people that read this blog live in the United States but I’m always so energized by July 4th, and this year was no different,  that I wanted to wish everyone a Happy 4th of July.

My favorite part about the Fourth and the reason I think of it as Civil Disobedience Day is that the state I live in, Ohio, has a law that should make it impossible to sit on my front porch to enjoy the fireworks but every year I get to enjoy those dozens of firework displays that my fellow neighbors set off. In Ohio, the only legal fireworks to own and use are sparklers and small novelty fireworks like those Snaps; however, it’s still permissible to buy all the other types of fireworks provided they are transported out of the state within 48 hours. It’s even required the the buyer signs an affidavit stating they will take them out of state and to say where they will taking the fireworks.  Being caught breaking this law could mean 6 months in jail and a $1,000 dollar fine but that doesn’t stop these patriotic Americans.

And the country is better off because of people like that. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Wishing Everyone A Belated Happy Civil Disobedience Day (aka July 4th)”

  1. How do you find out what percentage of your viewers come from where anyways? I’ve never been able to do that :v

    Anyways, yeah, happy three-days-after-Canada-Day-day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

