Asobi ni Iku Yo! Episode 9 – Finding More Reasons To Like This Show

Figures that mere hours after finishing my previous post about Occult Academy and Asobi ni Iku Yo! that I’d find something else I wanted to include. 🙂  I hemmed-and-hawed as to if I wanted to double post about Asobi ni Iku Yo! but I finally decided why not.

The ninth episode of Asobi ni Iku Yo! was a bit of a departure from previous episodes in terms of tone and pace and probably was used to cleanse the palette for the finale, if episode 10 was a proper indication of how the show will end. I liked it, though. I’ve already mentioned how I have the habit of finding odd things to enjoy about an anime. This time I had another personality quark scratched. From a young age I’ve tried to take the saying about putting yourself in someone else’s shoes to heart, even if it’s just a book or anime.

For episode 9 of Asobi ni Iku Yo! I imagined what it be like if I traveled across the universe to meet an alien race and discover that their culture could create something that resonated with me.  I’d like to think if/when we meet an alien culture that some things are universal (though, hopefully, blowing things up if one doesn’t understand them is not one of them). I also gave some serious thought about the Assistroids. The idea of making them incapable of speech and keeping them “simple” for their own happiness really struck me as wrong. I know I’m over thinking this but if I was Kio I think I’d be pushing for Assistroid emancipation. (There goes my American cultural superiority complex kicking in, thinking not only are these people wrong but it’s my duty to fix them. 🙂 )

Becoming a willing participant in the future robot rebellion wasn’t the biggest reason why I enjoyed this episode. I loved the science fiction reference that permeated this episode and discovered a freaky coincidence. I knew who Captain Future was from a very memorable novella written by Allen Steele several years ago. What I didn’t know and was completely shocked about was the author of the Captain Future books, Edmond Hamilton, was born in Youngstown – my hometown.

I was flabbergasted at this connection. Here I was watching an anime in Ohio that referenced the late 1970’s anime (which ran for 53 episodes) that adapted the stories and novels of Captain Future written during the 1940’s and 50’s half-a-world away by a guy that born more than a hundred years ago in the same town I was born in and still consider my hometown.

I also found out that there’s a Captain Future Hollywood movie in the works. Seems the director grew up in Germany and loved the 1970’s Captain Future anime that had gotten dubbed and released there. If it does, in fact, get made I’ll probably go see it just to enjoy the string of events that led me to see a Captain Future movie.

There were a couple other same items that stuck out to me during this episode as well.

One of my favorite guilty pleasures - Armageddon

I love when animators have to change the name of a company and squeeze a joke out of it.

A&W Root Beer fresh from their restaurant is one of the most delicious things known to humanity.

4 thoughts on “Asobi ni Iku Yo! Episode 9 – Finding More Reasons To Like This Show”

  1. Yes, the references were so old and I never knew about Captain Future, until this episode. But the stuff Lawry brought up was interesting and worth contemplating on.

    Liked the main theme song for this episode so much I got it, the original that is. Minorin cannot sing it well compared to the original version.

    Like

Leave a Reply

