Two Year Anniversary of The Null Set and Getting 500,000 Hits on the Same Day

2010 promises to offer more awesomeness

I hope no one minds if I do a little jig. Not only does The Null Set turn 2 years old today, I reach such an absurdly high milestone on the same day.

Just a little jig because it still feels like I have a long way to go before becoming a master blogger and too much celebration feels out-of-place. Instead, I feel deeply indebted to everyone that’s visited, read my posts, left comments, and continue to come back. I hesitate to thank any person in particular since I’ll invariably forget someone I should thank and, of course, there’s many people who read this blog anonymously that I’d thank if I knew their names. However, I don’t want to miss this chance to thank people like Kitsune, Janette, RP, Suguru, Zzeroparticle, Panther, FuyuMaiden, Canne and Steven Den Beste for frequently leaving comments and running interesting anime blogs themselves. And other commenter’s like dodo, ray, JayyG and all the people who have commented (for some reason) on my single post about Aang the Avatar.

As of this post, I have had 341 total posts, 500,236 views, 1131 comments, and 6828 spam comments.

My top day was 1,644 views on June 26,2009 and my top week was Dec 21-27 with 8,971 views.

My top ten posts are:

Winter 2008 – 2009 Anime Preview and Watchlist … 31,444 views

Soul Eater Wallpaper … 18,769 views

Soul Eater Wallpaper 2 … 17,954 views

Haruhi vs Gurren Lagann … 16,686 views

Toradora Wallpapers … 14,277 views

Gurren Lagann Wallpaper … 13,085 views

Spring 2009 Anime Preview and Watchlist … 8,787 views

The 5 Personal Most Influential (non-anime) Animation Shows … 8,739 views

FLCL Series Review … 7,406 views

Fall 2009 Anime Preview and Watchlist … 7,360 views

Reflections and resolutions

This year saw a redesign of The Null Set and a sprucing up my About page – which I’m pleased with the outcomes of both. And I don’t foresee changing the theme/layout in the coming year nor making many big changes.

In some ways I thought The Null Set took a step back this year because I didn’t post as often and I allowed my weekly anime post series to lapse and I didn’t offer as many wallpapers created by me this year and I let my completed anime in need of a series review pile to grow to large proportions. And I’ve let this depress me over the last couple months which has squelched a lot of the enthusiasm I have had towards blogging anime. However, over the last few days as I’ve watched the anniversary approach for The Null Set I realized that for all my perceived problems I’ve still gotten almost 400,000 hits during my second year and there’s people that keep coming back to read what I write. That’s something to be happy about and I feel re-energized.

Therefore, I pledge to try my level best to make the third year of The Null Set the best yet.

10 thoughts on “Two Year Anniversary of The Null Set and Getting 500,000 Hits on the Same Day”

  1. Congratulations! I’m low-tech enough I don’t have a hit counter, but I’m sure my blog never got anywhere near that much traffic, even when I blogged semi-regularly 😉 I wouldn’t sweat the backlog of series to write reviews of – after all, blogging’s something you do for fun, I always figured when it starts to feel like work that’s when you know you need to dial it back a little. Write what you want, not what you feel like you have to in order to “catch up”, and I think then your enthusiasm translates well to your readers too.

    Like

  2. 2 years? I guess that means you’ve got a 2 month headstart on me, and yet, I can’t even claim to reach that hitcount yet. Maybe I’ll miraculously catch up somehow.

    Congratz and looking forward to reading your musings!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the shoutout!

    Don’t worry about changing your format around, and no longer posting the weekly reviews are what not. You’re writing is very good, and you write very interesting articles. What you’re doing is working for for. ;]

    Like

  4. Dance to your hearts content! Thanks to your recommendations I now have a huge backlog of shows I need to watch.

    Like

  5. Congratulations on your second anniversary! 😀

    Life can get busy sometimes and affect the posting frequency, but that’s ok – things will get better eventually 🙂 I enjoy reading your posts and wish you many more years of blogging 🙂

    I especially like the current winter banner 🙂

    Like

  6. @everyone: thanks so much!!

    @Kitsune: glad you like my banner. I didn’t want to fish for comments but was hoping someone would say they liked it.

    @zzeroparticle: You might not have the as many hits but I personally have more respect for a site like yours.

    @suguru: If your interested in an easy way to get a counter, the Flag counter also provides a basic hit counter as well and yields fairly accurate results when compared to wordpress’s numbers and it’s really easy to install.

    Like

Leave a Reply

