Recent AMV Favorites

konachancom-38014-sample

Sturgeon’s Law would dictate that only 10% of AMVs are actually good enough to be worth defending. That’s a bit too pessimistic for me but I definitely think the vast majority are merely decent (including the AMV I made and is currently being blocked by Youtube). However, in the right hands, the anime music video has the potential to be very entertaining and artistically beautiful. The problem is finding them so I thought I’d share some of my recent favorites.

Twilight by Koopiskeva

This video totally and completely blew me away. Along with great editing and a good song to match the video, the real stand-out was the use of live action footage. Koop was able to take the characters from Kanon, stick them into the physical world and make it look like they belong. The effect enhances the emotional impact of the events that transpired in the show.

Running Man by Nostromo

One of my favorite AMV creators is Nostromo because his videos feature truly divine editing, beautiful animation and a song to match. His latest, Running Man, is no different.

A Little Retrospect

I love the concept of this video – a look back at AMVs that show how they have been evolving both in complexity and subjects used. I only recognize about 35% of the videos used and mainly just the most recent ones but it’s still interesting. I also like how it’s framed so we know exactly what we’re watching.

Just for a Day by Funky-kun

U2’s Beautiful Day has probably been used countless times as AMV material but this is one of the best uses of the song. Great editing and matching the animation to the lyrics of the song.

Lovestruck Radiance by Kisanzi

A great example of matching a song to a show and then making a well-done AMV using the two.

The Harassment of Kyon by MysteriousRyder

This is a straight comedy AMV with a good idea behind it – taking Itsuki’s somewhat creepy behavior in Haruhi to the next level. This is done with the perfect song and imaginative editing.

5 thoughts on “Recent AMV Favorites”

  1. A Little Retrospective is quite nostalgic for an older anime fan like myself. You can watch it just for the random anime clips, but knowing most of the original AMVs brings back some great memories.

    I haven’t seen the others, but I’ll take a look when I’m not at work.

    Like

  2. It sounds like most of these AMVs feature some kind of techno soundtrack. The first video is nice, but I can’t feel it because I am not familiar with the characters.

    On the other hand, I am familiar with the characters in the second video, but it does not do more than just look pretty.

    Retrospect looks like a nostalgia trip, but I don’t like the song that much.

    I like Just for a Day the most of this list. This AMV was also submitted to Japan Expo AMV Competition in France.

    Lovestruck is nice, but I prefer a slower paced songs for AMG videos.

    The last video is fun 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve noticed in both SF and anime fandom, that not much effort is given to remembering it’s past and passing it on. Which is a shame.

    Sometimes I wonder if I’ve developed a bit of ADD from watching to many fast-paced AMVs. 😀

    Like

  4. How many AMVs have you made, anyway?

    I know this post is 7 years old, just wondering how much you’ve tried your hand at editing them, if at all.

    Like

  5. @Seasons: I wanted to say I never actually made any AMVs but I see what I wrote above and that jogged my brain enough to overcome the denial it was probably feeling. 🙂

    I went through a phase where I tried a bunch of anime fan related things once. I made one “AMV” where I matched “Walk of Life” by Dire Straits with the baseball episode from Melancholy of Haruhi. I’m not going to link to it here because it’s very bad, calling it an AMV is being really charitable, but it is no longer being blocked so it is findable.

    I’m kinda in the mood to try making an AMV again but, realistically, I don’t see myself having the time to make a proper stab at one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

