Fall Anime Impressions – Skip Beat

I guess you can find sad girls in more places then just snow

Totally shifting gears now, my impression of the first episode of Skip Beat. I thank those people that commented about this show back when I did my preview for this season because I probably wouldn’t have watched due to approaching my limit of shows I could possibly follow at one time but I’m glad I did.

Rating: 11/12 A+

As I watching the first episode, I found myself thinking two things: wow, I’m liking a shoujo show and Kyoko’s voice sounds familiar.

The second thought is the easier one to explain –her voice is familiar because it’s Marina Inoue, the voice of Kana from Minami-Ke and Yoko from Gurren Lagann. What gave it away was at one point she laughed just like Kana. Actually, though, the first isn’t that hard to explain either. The easiest way to my anime-loving heart is with good characters and this episode had that.We were introduced to a dastardly jerk that I will enjoy hating and a heroine that I feel bad for and hope to see her get her revenge against the jerk. We where also briefly introduced to Ren, voiced by Kamina, who I’m guessing – on pretty much a hunch and having no facts – is going to be the person that Kyoko ends up with. Or that’s who I’m going to root for since I still feel sad over what happened in Gurren Lagann.

Maybe I’ve been a shoujo fan without knowing it and I’ve just needed to actually watch one to become a fan of the genre but, more likely, the fact that Hal Film Makers (Aria, Sketchbook, Somedays Dreamer’s season 2) is behind this helped me enjoy this so much. Either way, at this point I’m pretty sure I’m going to watch this all the through.

She overheard a conversation she shouldn’t have had

and her reaction
The beginnings of her plan for revenge
One thought on “Fall Anime Impressions – Skip Beat”

  1. OMGOMGOMG!!!! I absolutely LOVE Skip-Beat down to my BONES!!! Thank you for posting this and showing me that I am not the only Skip-Beat Fan! I am, according to my friend Artimis, a Kyoko Wannabe.

    I couldn’t be more proud. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

