Help! Youtube blocked one of my anime videos

This is the video in question. According to Youtube, it’s been blocked from viewing in the US and Canada at the request of Starz Media LLC. I live in the US and can still see it, which shouldn’t be so.

So my first question, to anyone willing to comment, can you still see the video, or is it blocked?

Also, Youtube says I can dispute the claim and I’m wondering if anyone has ever done this?

The video in question was used in a post I wrote about Otaking’s flimsy “documentary” and why I liked fansubs. The clip is obviously an example of fair use and I want to dispute the claim but I’m worried that I’d be opening a huge can of worms that makes it not worth doing (I mean we all now a quality fansub is a better then what can be found on an DVD). But then again, if I don’t, I feel like I’m disrespecting the spirit of Gurren Lagann.

Thanks in advance to anyone who comments.

13 thoughts on “Help! Youtube blocked one of my anime videos”

  1. U.S. — can’t see the video.

    Question — how long was your original video? How much of the clip did you use? If the clip is only a few seconds long, you have a claim. If the clip is a longer one, copyright laws are going to be against you (and you can thank our glorious U.S. lawmakers in both parties for their ignorance in changing the laws to stifle fair usage and public domain all for a campaign contribution from Big Entertainment). That’s why often you’ll see clips on TV only show less than 15-seconds of video for something they are talking about and then they keep repeating it (assuming said clip is not already considered part of the public domain). That way, they can make a fair usage claim and not pay licensing fees. If you see something longer, then someone got paid for the privilege.

    Like

  2. I’ve uploaded one previous Gurren Lagann PV to YouTube as well and received a similar copyright claim. This is natural and not all that uncommon. You have no legal grounds to dispute the claim, so you should refrain from doing so.
    About blocking the video in U.S. and Canada, this is a recent development. All they’ve done in the past was claim their copyrights, but now they’ve also disabled viewing them from mentioned territories. You can’t do much about it, to be honest. If you still want to show the clip on your blog, just use a different online video service.

    Like

  3. If you have not yet filed a dispute, try this. Under option 2, insert:
    Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use.

    Three out of the four times I’ve tried, it has worked immediately for my muted/disabled videos with content claimed by WMG. Good luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

