Weekly Anime Review (Aug 10-16)

Sakura being Sakura
Sakura being Sakura

Since I’m talking about last week I first wanted to mention that this year’s Perseid meteor shower was cool. We had a cloudless sky and even though I was inside the city I got to see 8-9 really nice meteors that streaked across the sky and a handful of smaller ones. I can’t really describe how cool it felt as I laid out on a blanket with a couple of pillows behind my head and looking up, watching the meteors suddenly appearing in the sky. The other big meteor shower that I’ll try to catch is in December and that one will involve a lot more bundling up. So getting to anime – after last week, this week I had a lot less anime that needed watched so I did get caught up on Nabari no Ou.

The scores:

Wagaya no Oinari-sama, episode 13 – 12+/12 Perfect
Wagaya no Oinari-sama, episode 14 – 11/12 A+
Wagaya no Oinari-sama, episode 15 – 12/12 Perfect

Zero’s Familiar S.3, episode 6 – 08/12 B+

Birdy the Mighty Decode, episode 3 – 12/12 Perfect
Birdy the Mighty Decode, episode 4 – 10/12 A
Birdy the Mighty Decode, episode 5 – 11/12 A+
Birdy the Mighty Decode, episode 6 – 10/12 A

X’amd: Lost Memories, episode 5 – 12/12 Perfect

Maid Guy, episode 10 – 11/12 A+

Natsume Yuujinchou, episode 5 – 11/12 A+
Natsume Yuujinchou, episode 6 – 12/12 Perfect

Soul Eater, episode 19 – 11/12 A+

Nabari no Ou, episode 12 – 10/12 A
Nabari no Ou, episode 13 – 11/12 A+
Nabari no Ou, episode 14 – 12/12 Perfect
Nabari no Ou, episode 15 – 12+/12 Perfect
Nabari no Ou, episode 16 – 10/12 A
Nabari no Ou, episode 17 – 11/12 A+

Aizawa rocks
Aizawa rocks

Thoughts and Highlights

In my previous dealing with Nabari no Ou I often see-sawed about how I liked the show but with this block of episodes I can enthusiastically say I really like it. The story seems to be finally knitting itself together and we’re finally getting a sense that the show is moving towards it’s goal. We also finding out about what’s motivating some of the characters and the addition of cool fighting always helps.

This week saw a group finally subbing more of Birdy, and for that I’m grateful to them. I continue to enjoy the series and the hints of the next story arc are enticing. I noticed though that by episode 6 the animation has definitely dropped in quality with the characters no longer look consistently the same. Maybe the recent announcement of a second season of Birdy will bump back up the animation quality. A second season also makes the pacing of this chunk of episodes understandable because the pacing so far feels more like a 26 episode length anime then a 13 episode length anime. Not to say that’s a bad thing but only something I would question given the limited time 13 episodes gives you.

Birdy's mission, save the planet from this
Birdy’s mission – save the planet from this

Natsume is really shaping up to be a top class show. It’s mix of slice-of-life feel, supernatural happenings, and soothing animation makes for a good show.I’m waiting to see what Natsume does when an actual evil spirit wants it’s name back but so far the spirits that have wanted their names back have all been sad cases. It really makes me think of Reiko as being a real jerk.

After 15 episodes, I’m no longer surprised at Wagaya being a good show – I just accept it. Episode 13, with the help of Sakura being Sakura, was one of the best episodes I watched this week.

take the culture shocked miko to a haunted house without telling her what a haunted house is
Great idea – take the culture shocked miko to a haunted house without telling her what a haunted house is.

On the other hand, this weeks episode of Zero’s Familiar was the worse I watched. It wasn’t as funny as the previous episodes and the purposeful shot angles that they then censored infuriated me. Not because I wanted to see the “fan”-service but this makes at least two times, in 6 episodes, that the studio blatantly attempts to do something just because it will drive DVD sales up. Either show it or not and to top it all off, it’s not even something that needs censored in the first place. This heavy-handed technique will guarantee that I will find it almost impossible to buy the DVD’s if they ever come out here.

And finally, Soul Eater is starting to really heat up. I can’t wait for next week’s episode to see if Stein and Medusa fight gets finished. Stein’s spirit stitching ability and Medusa’s vector arrows are both interesting and gives their fight a fresh feeling. I’m worrying that Soul and Maka will be in trouble either from the difficulty of their opponent or if Soul feels he needs the help of the black blood inside him to win.

Pretty awesome episode, even if Maid Guy wasn't in it much
Pretty awesome episode, even if Maid Guy wasn’t in it much
Leave a Reply

