2008 Anime Saimoe Tournament

The 2008 Saimoe Tournament is set to begin in a couple of days. For those of you that don’t know what the Saimoe Tournament is, it’s essentially a popularity contest to find the most popular female moe character of anime in the last year.

My interest in the Saimoe Tournament has waxed and waned. I remember being really excited in 2006 because I was sure someone from Haruhi would win and being disappointed when no one did. Last year I only followed it once it got down to the final 8.

The most interesting thing about this tournament is that while originally meant for just Japanese watchers of anime, anyone can vote if they can fake a very little knowledge of Japanese (just follow some directions that nice people have translated for us). The other real interesting part of this tournament is that all voting is public and people can fake vote. This fake voting makes for some interesting twists in the balloting. In the end then, this tournament turns into one of big yearly events in anime fandom (though I wish there was a competition for male characters as well).

What I decided to do yesterday was create a bracket that people could fill out and post. Taking information that I found in the animsuki thread by margafred and ando I made up a bracket in photoshop and added text boxes in adobe acrobat so people can type in their picks. So here it is:

2008 Saimoe Bracket.pdf

To fill out a bracket, first save a copy. Next, fill out the selections (you’ll notice I set up the text boxes so I do all first round bouts first, then second, etc.). When your done, save it as a .png and it’s ready to post (saving it as jpg will not work).

And here’s my bracket filled out.

I don’t think I’ll do so well in the end since I didn’t watch several shows like Code Geass, Nanoha StrikerS, Gundam 00, Da Capo 2 and thus I gravitated to picking characters from shows I’ve watched.

Here are the winners by group:

Group A – Furude Rika from Higurashi
Group B – Fujibayashi Ryou from CLANNAD
Group C – Hiiragi Kagami from Lucky Star
Group D – Sakagami Tomoyo from CLANNAD
Group E – Nia Teppelin from Gurren Lagann
Group F – Furukawa Nagisa from CLANNAD
Group G – Hiiragi Tsukasa from Lucky Star
Group H – Tiffania Westwood from Zero’s Familiar

For the final winner, I’m going to pick Hiiragi Kagami. I don’t expect to do alot of posting on the tournament, you might see another post on it when it gets down to the final 8.


2 thoughts on “2008 Anime Saimoe Tournament”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s