Weekly Review of Anime Watched (Aug3 – Aug 9)

With a large backlog that I had to work on, I gravitated to shows that I liked. As a consequence, most of the episodes received high marks (and the week break probably helped as well). One show in particular, Nabari No Ou, I have let get backlogged badly and will try to catch that one for the next weekly review.

Natsume Yuujichou, episode 3 – Rating 12/12 Perfect
Natsume Yuujichou, episode 4 – Rating 12/12 Perfect

Someday’s Dreamers S.2, episode 4 – Rating 12+/12 Perfect

Soul Eater, episode 16 – Rating 12/12 Perfect
Soul Eater, episode 17 – Rating 12+/12 Perfect
Soul Eater, episode 18 – Rating 12+/12 Perfect

Zero’s Familiar S.3, episode 4 – Rating 12/12 Perfect
Zero’s Familiar S.3, episode 5 – Rating 12/12 Perfect

Xam’d: Lost Memories, episode 2 – Rating 12/12 Perfect
Xam’d: Lost Memories, episode 3 – Rating 12/12 Perfect
Xam’d: Lost Memories, episode 4 – Rating 12/12 Perfect

Ryoko’s Case Files, episode 3 – Rating 12/12 Perfect
Ryoko’s Case Files, episode 4 – Rating 11/12 A+
Ryoko’s Case Files, episode 5 – Rating 12/12 Perfect

Slayer’s Revolution, episode 4 – Rating 07/12 B

Kaiba, episode 10 – Rating 12++/12 Perfect
Kaiba, episode 11 – Rating 12+++/12 Perfect
Kaiba, episode 12 – Rating 12+++/12 Perfect

Daughter of 20 Faces, episode 12 – Rating 12/12 Perfect
Daughter of 20 Faces, episode 13 – Rating 12/12 Perfect

Zettai Karen Children, episode 12 – Rating 10/12 A
Zettai Karen Children, episode 13 – Rating 11/12 A+

Thoughts and Highlights

First off, I’m going to stop watching Slayer’s Revolution. I knew it was going to be problematic for me to watch a fourth season when I’ve missed the first three and I was right. I tried to get into the show but after four episodes it didn’t happen and I think one of reasons was that the animators didn’t spend enough time developing the characters since by the fourth season there has been plenty of character development before.

Next, this week saw the end of Kaiba, the current pick for the best anime of 2008 in my book. It’s probably going to take a few more viewings to piece everything together but I feel that I understood the lion-share of what happened. For an ‘experimental’ SF anime, I was really impressed with the characters. They were all given depth and room to change through the course of the show. Expect a fuller write-up soon.

As you can tell from my scores I watched a lot of good anime this week. X’am continues to promise an epic show and Soul Eater finally seems to have moved from introduction to meaty plot (I was starting to lose a little interest). On the slice-of-life front both Natsume Yuujinchou and Someday’s Dreamers continue to be excellent. Five episodes into Zero’s Familiar and I’m still liking it. We finally got some Tabitha screen time and the antics of Louise and Saito continue to amuse me – it’s not high art but entertaining.

And finally, I was glad to watch a couple of Zettai Karen Children episodes but it appears that the group working on it won’t be able to continue and I’m sad since they have been doing a good job with it.

One thought on “Weekly Review of Anime Watched (Aug3 – Aug 9)”

  1. you even rated Excalibur episode of SE as perfect. you sure don’t expect anything from shows except of being anime

    Like

Leave a Reply

