Summer Anime Impressions – Someday’s Dreamers Season 2

Onto the show I was most looking forward to – Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto ~Natsu no Sora~ or as I will call it Someday’s Dreamers S2. This didn’t disappoint but what was surprising was the artwork.

Rating: 12/12 Perfect

I need to confess something before going on – even though I’m an urbanite I have harbored a life long desire to be a farmer. So this episode really tugged at me and I realize other viewers will react differently.

Someday Dreasmers S2 follows a new main character, Suzuki Sora. She’s lives a normal life on a farm but has just been accepted to a school in Tokyo so that she can become a mage. The rest of the series will probably be about her trials and tribulations before getting her license but this first episode follows her on her last day at home. This last day is filled with many of things that you’d imagine it would have – she says her good-byes, her mom makes her a dinner of foods that she likes, etc.

One other thing that Sora does is use her magic to help her friend confess to a boy that will be moving away soon. This scene is beautiful to watch and is such a good example of the interesting ways magic is used in this series. When we hear the word magic one either thinks of magicians like Houdini or mages from books and video games slinging fireballs and lightning bolts but Sora uses magic to create snow so her friend and the boy can experience winter together before he moves away.

There is nothing I can really say to knock this show – I loved the art, music, characters, story, and the OP/ED. The only thing I kinda wish is that Sora would get to stay in the country since I so enjoyed this episode.

Opening

Ending

Click on the thumbnails for full size screenshots

Did anyone else catch this in Sora’s bedroom?

It’s Escher’s famous Ascending and Descending.

Edit: I just rewatched this and decided to add a bit more before this post is scheduled to be published. Another thing that struck me was the attention to detail. In the one screenshot above we see that the paved road is covered in dirt and the reason is because farm equipment left the dirt. In other scenes they show the shadows of the clouds rolling over the countryside which is something I see when I travel out to the farms.

I do hope that maybe some of the characters from the first season will make a cameo appearance and while the animation technique of this series is different from what I was expecting I think the trade offs where worth it.

4 thoughts on “Summer Anime Impressions – Someday’s Dreamers Season 2”

  1. Strictly speaking, this would be S3 (at least going by the manga). The second series was not animated.

    Like

  2. Hi, thanks for the nice review. I am behind on my anime and didn’t even know there was another series of this show. I have the first series on DVD. I enjoyed it. One of those animes to watch if you don’t mind sitting back with a slower pace show. The artwork on this new series looks fantastic. I’ll definitely check it out sometime. Thanks.

    Like

  3. Yeah, Ghibli’s Only Yesterday is right up my alley. I happened to catch it when TCM showed in on American TV a couple of years ago. I’m still miffed that I can’t buy it on DVD.

    Like

Leave a Reply

