My First Vector Trace – Murasaki Wallpaper

As the title says I did my first vector trace. I chose to do Murasaki, from Kure-nai, since I had a nice screenshot from episode 8 when she was in her kimono. I’ve been wanting to learn how to do vector tracing for a long while but was always to intimidated to try. When I finished I figured the obvious thing to do is make a wallpaper with the trace – so I did.

First is 1280×1024, second is 1600×1200 and the last is 1920×1200:

How do you like them? I’m open to any constructive criticism. I think I did a decent job on it but don’t really know how to improve them. I think I’d like to try to do some sort of pattern overlay on her kimono or maybe put something in the background. Next I want to try to do something from Kaiba, I think; though, I probably will tinker a bit first.

4 thoughts on “My First Vector Trace – Murasaki Wallpaper”

  1. “but was always to intimidated to try. When I finished I figured the obvious thing to do is make a wallpaper with the trace – so I did.”

    I am glad you did it – I like that wallpaper 😀 Very nice soft colors and lovely expression. Don’t feel intimidated – create more art! I look forward to seeing your Kaiba works 🙂

    “If you hear a voice within you say “you cannot paint,” then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.”

    “In spite of everything I shall rise again: I will take up my pencil, which I have forsaken in my great discouragement, and I will go on with my drawing. ”
    – Vincent Van Gogh

    Like

  2. I think it’s a good job for a first time ! 🙂
    But I’d say overall it lacks a bit of details, and you should refine the hair and the face in priority.

    Which soft did you use?

    Like

  3. good job! i did some vectors too, and a little-not-much-helping tutorial. haha. you can see it in my blog.

    edit by tns: I’m going to guess that this is your tutorial (or it’s someone with the same user name that happened to do a vector tutorial 🙂 ). If that is your blog, then I liked your anime background tutorials.

    Like

Leave a Reply

