The 12 Days of Christmas – Day 6: A Pair of Old Friends

hidamari_sketch_01

Okay, I’m seriously starting to get way to long with these entries; so, for today, I’m going to bend the rules a bit and try not to be so introspective. Bending the rules a bit because I’m going to cover two anime series and the moment is really just a pseudo-moment.

The types of relationships a person can have with an anime series is as varied as the types of anime themselves. A person can lean upon an anime series like Ichigo Mashimaro to raise their spirits and help get them through a bad day. Or a person wants to get pumped up so they pull out Gurren Lagann, Haibane Renmei for melancholy reminiscing, Clannad to shed a few tears, Shiki or Ghost Hound to get that creepy feeling, Kino’s Journey to ponder life’s mysteries, and to shut off one’s brain and have a fun time is as easy as picking up Tiger and Bunny – to name a few examples.

This year saw the airing of the fourth season of two anime series that I’ve grown to like very much. The first is Natsume Yuujinchou, a slice-of-life series about a boy who can see ghosts and is animated by Brains Base. The second is Hidamari Sketch, a slice-of-life series about the lives of the girls who live at the Hidamari Apartments and attend the high school across the street. Natsume I liked almost from the beginning but Sketch took over one season for me to really warm too and it was pondering why it took so long before Sketch flipped nearly instantaneously to a favorite that clued me in on my relationship with both.

Both Natsume and Sketch are like old friends that travel around who I only get to see when they’re in the neighborhood. For the brief time they’re here I get nostalgic about the previous times I saw them and I want to here about where they’ve been and the people they’ve met since I last saw them. So, today’s moment is the first moment of the fourth seasons to Natsume and Sketch when I smiled over the chance at meeting a good friend after too long of an absence.

natsume29739

So, to pick up from yesterday:

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a love powered mecha.
On the second day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a wake up call.
On the third day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a unique form of culture shock.
On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a masterpiece to savor.
On the fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a shock to the heart.
On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me: a pair of comfortable old slippers.

Tune in tomorrow to see what’s next.

-

Leave a Reply

