Summer 2009 Anime Impressions – Fight Ippatsu! Juuden-chan!!

I don’t normally bother to write impression posts for the really lousy anime of the season since spending time on them is much better then they’re worth. The same would be the case for this show and after two episodes I decided not to write about this show but in a moment of weakness I decided to watch episode 3 on the off-chance it might redeem the series. It didn’t but there was something about episode 3 that really bugged me enough to get me to write this post up.

Rating: episode 1 – 2/12F
Rating: episode 2 – 2/12F
Rating: episode 3 – 2/12F
Anticipation Level: 0/5 – None

A little of the back story to this show for those that haven’t seen it. Remember the Pixar movie called Monsters, Inc.? The setup for this show is similar but replace the monsters with women wearing plug suits that don’t leave much to imagination and instead of scaring them, they “charge” them up. Our main character is a guy that works at a restaurant and for some reason, he’s the only human that can see these charging women from a parallel universe. The first charging women we meet is a complete klutz and the second is the klutz’s boss – a egotistical jerk who thinks she’s perfect and awesome but isn’t.

These charging women have a habit of surprising him when they float through walls and somehow he always has a bat with him so when they surprise him, he beans them with the bat. Now the violence isn’t necessary what bothers me, there’s tons of other shows that the characters are violent to each other; what bothers me is that in episode 3, the klutz’s boss decides that she really likes it when the hits her with a bat.

I’m not going to say that I think watching this show will convince all the teenage boys that this show is aimed at that it’s okay to beat women because secretly they enjoy getting beat but I will say that it’s an incredibly stupid thing to show and it does send the wrong message to them. Seriously, who thought this was a good idea.

Luckily, I don’t think too many people will watch this show. The animators ineptness at making the fan service aspect yawn inducing and using animation of such low quality that it’s about as stimulating as seeing Putin in swim trunks will drive even the idiots to better done stuff. If not there’s always the fact that Depends is a sponsor of this show.

That’s about all I wanted to say about this show – I just hope I didn’t entice more people to watch this show. If so divine misfortune will probably come my way now. ;)

7 thoughts on “Summer 2009 Anime Impressions – Fight Ippatsu! Juuden-chan!!”

  1. I thought the show was a lot of fun, and I like that it’s very aware of itself as to what kind of show it is. It does a good job of being exactly what it wants to be, and if you can enjoy that thing, then the show will be for you.

    Like

  2. This is a pretty polar extreme shoow. Either your going to hate it or enjoy it alot. I’m taking it as the show is trying to satire the echhiness of other shows, especially with the show magical girl, show within a show.
    Yeah the masochist girl is weird, so is the pissing, and the sheer amount of “fan” service. But I think if you just laugh at the craziness of it, you’ll be enjoying a pretty good show.

    Like

Leave a Reply

