Perseid Meteor Shower

Just a reminder, the Perseid Meteor Shower is going to peak the night of Monday, Aug. 11 into Tuesday, Aug. 12. Last year’s Perseid Shower was the first time I tried to watch a meteor shower and it was one of my favorite moments of the year. I live in the city but even so I was able to 2-3 really nice meteors that streaked across the sky and about a dozen smaller ones during the hour and half I watched last year. It wasn’t hard to do, all I did was drag a blanket out to put on the front lawn, laid out on my back and looked up.

A few tips I’d pass on. I did the best meteor watching by looking straight up and not looking around too much since the meteor might only be visible for a second or two. Also, cup you hands around your eyes if there’s a lot of surface lights near where you are (we had a street light 50 feet down the road). And finally, it takes up to 15 minutes for your eyes to adjust to the dark so don’t worry if you don’t see something immediately.

Visit here, here, here for more information. And click on the thumbnails below for meteor shower related anime pictures. The middle one, taken from AIR, is one of my favorite pictures of AIR that I have.

Leave a Reply

